Game Art Challenge #10:Chopper-Tank Mech

Hello everybody. This is my first post here. I am pretty new to 3D with only about 1 year self-taught experience (which I took up after my graduation from college) . I’m a hobbyist now, and currently hold a day job as an engineer. Yes, of course, I would like one day to work in this industry, but first I have to prove my ability. I hope to gain valuable experience and skill through this competition. Although to date, I have only done 1 low poly model (which is a 1 day rush job anyway), and have done mainly organic models, I believe can acheive good results if I put my heart to it.

Ok, now a brief description of my work.

Setting
I have a rough idea of the setting and character athough I haven’t pull all the spring togeher yet, the post-Apo period has cause the vast majority of the land to be wastelands, radioactive effect of of war of Apocaplse cause new mutants creatures and even humans to be spawned…to be continued

The vechicle:
Simply put, its a combination of a chopper, a tank, a mech, and cannon from different eras.

I rough out the shape to get an overall picture. Detailing will follow soon after. I am thinking of using normal map but I am not sure whether it is neccessary for this design that have mostly hard edges. I will definately use bump for fine lines and details.

Mech Mode

The vehicle can be move using tracks ala a tank for quicker coverage of terrain.

The mesh is good. Really low at the moment. I like the transformer mode, but why does it have mech legs? I’d like to see it fly and roll, rather than walk and roll, but the hybrid of the helicopter and tank comes off nicely (cept when it’s walking around! ;))

Thats just MHO tho. Keep it up.

I had seen your images before but they’re down now.

It’s looking good, but I would still like to see a helicopter rotor in there somewhere. If not for flying, it’d be cool to use it as a weapon.