Fundamental Flaws in 3D modeling or is it me?

You will call me crazy at the end of this post, but I don’t think I’m wrong.

Intro: I’m brand new to any kind of modeling, but I’m not new to software. I developed some very known sophisticated trading systems for banks, and other stuff, so bare with me here. I’m recreating an aircraft in 3ds max 2016. So far it’s the most detailed recreation ever and things are going great except 1 fundamental problem I can not seem to understand.

The problem: Everything is fine with modeling except building/extruding/extending parts on a rounded surface (fuselage). The fuselage is a simple cylinder with 68 sides. Anytime I put a vert/edge on the surface of the cylinder, the cylinder changes the shading. 3ds Max assumes I am simply adding sides to the cylinder. This prevents me from adding any kind of topography in between the side edges. 3ds Max does not understand the difference between “drawing” on the side of the cylinder vs adding a side to the cylinder. Or maybe I am simply missing something. You be the judge.

It seems the topography is meaningless in my case. I literary tried everything and I learned to hide those problems by “drawing” counter lines to hide the errors, but there are cases where I can not hide it. Obliviously on flat surfaces this is not a problem at all. This is only a problem on cylinders.

Below are the photos of the problem. Please ignore the topology as finishing off those verts does not change anything. It will make it worse. Also, new users can only upload 1 image, so I will need to create multiple replies for the images.

Even with perfect topology adding 1 vert or 1 edge deforms the shading. I don’t know of a way to fix it.
3ds Max simply takes my verts on the surface of the cylinder and tries to turn the cylinder into a circle.

Please help, this is the only thing standing in my way.