Few questions about basics about Maya from 3ds max exp. user

Hi,

I have many years of experience in 3ds max and thus plenty of habits, but now it’s time to learn Maya.

I couldn’t find answer for couple of questions, maybe you guys will help me out.

First thing is that I used to work in one viewport, without going back and out from it.
I model in orthographic mode, rotating freely my camera. Both in Max and Maya. What I am missing in Maya is to go quickly back to front/top/back/bottom using some hot key ideally.

I can go out and in from viewport using space, but because I unlocked my viewports, I have to create new ortographic view in a panel… and i end up with like 10 front views…uh, its a mess.

Does anyone have similar experience and some clever solution?

I would get satisfied by knowing how to snap toggle camera angle view to 90 degrees, like in max, zbrush and many other apps.

I am trying find a solution. How about locking individual orthographic viewports to prevent rotation, can I do it?
Or setup a camera which will be my front/back/right/top/bottom view, and bring it by hotkey when needed?

Second thing that I am looking script for ring and loop. Which would allow me to make ring/loop from already selected edges. The basics methods which maya offers are great, just not for every scenario, and Id like to still have a tool making loop/ring from what is already selected.

Third thing. Does anyone know if there is Screen View Mode (not just world/object view mode)? I dont see it, how that can be?

What I am missing in Maya is to go quickly back to front/top/back/bottom using some hotkey ideally.

Press and hold space, press and hold on center cube named Maya and you will get access to you viewports.

but now it’s time to learn Maya

Better take a look at Houdini :slight_smile: