Exploring Python As Beginner

For the first time last night I played with Python. Even though it was my first time I was able to create:
-A perpetually spinning object (no key frames) - controllable spin speed
-A script to jump the play head to a specific frame

I saved the scripts for re-use.

Now the fact that I was able to go from total beginner to writing two scripts… in 90 minutes… is a testament not to my intelligence (which is modest) but to the elegance of Maxon’s design.

My early limited success has lit a fire to learn more and do more with this. But there is very little in the way of video training I could find.

Can anyone suggest resources? Or share experiences?

I don’t yet have a sense of how useful Python can be…how all it can be used to extend the program. Thoughts?

On to specific questions as total beginner…

In the script I wrote last night I noticed that it gets called with every update.

I suppose the
c4d.EventAdd() w/out additional refinement will cause the script to get called with every c4d refresh, which includes a new frame but also includes manipulation of objects in the viewport.

This is useful as is, but if I want more control what would I do to manipulate when the script gets called?

I’ve done light coding in other environments and I think of options like click events, hover, or timeline triggers. What types of call triggers are available here?

From early research here are some things one could do with Python:

Develop tiny scripts or full-blown plugins that…
-Create Objects
-Talk to the Operating System and hardware (e.g. check RAM)
-Modify or extend operation of existing c4d objects and systems
-Build features that communicate from within c4d to the Web
-Use loops, conditions, lists to process objects, points, polys, vertexes and maps
-Extend MoGraph
-Control Timeline
-Modify C4D’s UI

Most immediately and easily… one can scavenge existing python scripts and code snippets.