Exploring Alternate Frame Rates

I want to explore video frame rates with my fellow artists here…and the notion of using unique frame rates for certain projects. But first I have to start with one of my stories (I love getting some of you to roll your eyes at my stories, some of which I repeat like your grandpaps).

I was an Adobe certified trainer back in the day and an Adobe beta tester as well. Because of my role with Adobe in 1991 while visiting the California Bay Area I got invited to a hush-hush preview of an exciting new technology. Yes I’m old. In my mid 50’s. :slight_smile:

The technology? A pre-Release version of QUICKTIME. This was the first (or certainly near the first) time any company had explored using desktop computers to play video realtime from hard disk. This was before there were any fully digital video editors or compositing tools that weren’t 50k plus. The technology of course was developed by Apple and was exclusive.

Now again…this is before After Effects, Premiere…and well before serious 3d animation on desktops. So a group of us were ushered in to peek at video samples playing off Macs with what were still somewhat new color computer displays. (8-Bit color display tech arrived en-masse around 1986-1988)

What did we see? Well you had to hold your head close to the screen! The “video” was playing at 5-10 FPS. The size of the video was around 240x180! A postage stamp. I recall telling a tech, “Very cool…but can you make it BIGGER” He rolled his eyes and suppressed hitting me. Drives and hardware were so damn slow back then.

The size of course increased. Things quickly evolved to 15 FPS and then to 30. “Dropping frames” and stuttering video was a problem for a long time. Audio and video would lose synchronization. It took years for standard def to become stable. Then of course we got HD 15-20 years later.