Excel Coordinates >> Point Cloud >> 3D Mesh, need help

I tried looking at old topics, but couldn’t quite find the right help (probably because I’m a huge newb with the specifics of what I’m doing).

Basically, my office has given me a task of bringing a 14 million coordinate excel file (each coordinate with RGB values as well, so the rows look like:

X coordinate, Y coordinate, Z coordinate, R value, G value, B value

The data was created by a 3D environmental scanner. I know how to save the coordinates out as comma separated text files, and I have my programmers helping me figure out how to best divide the data.

But I want to know how to best bring the coordinates into 3Ds Max (currently using version: Design 2009). I heard something about point clouds and then converting that into a mesh. The data-points are fairly packed together, if that helps.

Please know that I am not a max-scripter at all (and am not sure if the programmers I will be working with are either).

So any help bringing this Excel file to a 3D mesh is very appreciated.

Hi,

It’s faily easy to build a mesh with those vetex coordonates and colors.

BUT, I don’t think there is a way to build the faces from those verts.
I never heard of of a point cloud to mesh converter.

You’re pretty much stuck with the point cloud, as i don’t imagine building millions of faces manually.

i think you have to look at some 3d laserscanner companys like Rigel or Callidus.
I know that they can convert pointclouds with RGB information.
Some application to generate a mesh from pointcloud: Polyworks, QTSculptor, aSpect3D, …
I think that the large amount of points requires such an application. why dont you ask a 3d laserscanning company to convert the pointcloud for you?
I have worked about 3 jears for ArcTron in Germany and we used Riegel Scanners. I know that the convertion of the pointcloud to a mesh is not much work if you use the right Application.