Do you think that learning a programming code is beneficial?

Hi! I’m a graphic design student based in Rome, Italy.
I’m learning animation, and I really want to improve in the “3D side of things”
Do you think that study a code would be beneficial for an animator, designer, 3D artist etc.?
I have seen how in many animation software it is possible to set the animation following particular scripts (My last lesson (The last lesson in the academy I attended covered this feature of After Effects)

What do you think is a really useful programming language to know?
Thank you.

I am very curious as to the answer to this question as well.

It depends., but a general answer would be that the more you know the better it is. If you are going to dig in the FX world for sure you will need to do it. Also do you mean a programming language? Almost every 3d mainstream application seems now to support python (excluding their own native scripting language) and so this can be a good investment for the future.

Yes I meant a programming language. Probabilly I’m going to start learning Python.
To your experience, how the knowledge of a language improved workflow (Or made you create things that were not possible without knowing that particular language)

Are there schools/colleges where this is taught, formally? Or are there even online places to learn it?

Yes its benefical. Don’t expect that you can write your own fluid sim in the first year of learning, but writing some small scripts to automate certain tasks, can be quite some fun if you got a certain affinity to it.

Python… Its easy to learn, very expandeable, and most 3d application support it.
c / c++ experience is also good if you want to dive deeper and write complex plugins and applications, but for starters I definitive recommend python, especially if it should be a second skill.

But again this is also a question of personal preference.