Dawn Of The Ornithopter, Doug Ollivier (3D)

Title: Dawn Of The Ornithopter
Name: Doug Ollivier
Software: Blender

The world has changed, the climate is in turmoil, winds are furious, and resources are few and far between. The Aviation industry has virtually collapsed, teleconferencing and data communications are more popular than travel. The Ornithopter dawns a new era in aviation, riding the wind as a bird, There is no better architype than nature.
This Model was created as part of a Yearly 24h Modelling challenge that I have with another Blender user. 6 materials, and all the poligons we can add in 24h straight.
I was recently on a trip, completing an Environmental Audit of the flaura and fauna in a pristine area. I began to look closely at the birds, bugs and fish. Being an Industrial design student I got a bit industrial with my drawings while trying to appreciate the forms of nature.
There are a few minor errors in this work such as joints in the wing and a couple of feathers overlapping. but any other critique is welcome. I am specifically interested in crit about the aesthetics and peoples stylistic opinions. I love to get new influences and perspectives for my 3d, and design work.
More images from different angles.

Thanks for your time.
Doug Ollivier

simply amazing. Love the concept especially!

i like very much, great design :thumbsup:

Visually striking! It looks more plastic opposed to metal which is good since its a flying machine. I’m not sure how the tail end would hold up with balance and function. But it looks great! I could picture some really nice translucent shaders on the wings like in i robot film to show some of the mechanics and colour hues?
I enjoy viewing original work, not the same old stuff that you always see.