Creating normal maps, help.

It is possible to create normal maps in C4D. I’ve got the texture I’ve made applied to my model, now what? If anyone could point me to a tutorial or some documentation I’d really appreciate it.

Need a little more explanation. What kind of texture have you created? Are you trying to turn displacement mapping into a normal map? Using the sculpt tool or a texture created somewhere else?

Sorry, I guess that was kind of vague. I guess my ultimate question is, what’s the best way to create a normal map from an image I created in photoshop? The image wraps around a model I created. (I’m am skinning a character for a video game.)

Can any of it be done in Cinema4d/BodyPaint? I’m a veteran C4D used but haven’t used Bodypaint before and didn’t know if it had this functionality. I’m on a Mac, so normal mapping apps are pretty scarce. I have a simple 2D normal map creator but it’s a bit convoluted and doesn’t produce the best results. And from what I understand, making normal maps in a 2D app like Photoshop isn’t a true normal map. Is that correct? Anyway, any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

If I understand your question, just put your Grayscale heightmap (bump map) into a Normalizer Shader in the Normal material channel.
Then you can bake that texture out.

Couple of Mac options for you, Crazy Bump is a free beta at the moment:

http://www.crazybump.com
http://www.allegorithmic.com/products/b2m/overview

That’s what the normalizer shader does.

I’ve been using crazybump. Great piece of software. I was just wondering if I could do this in Cinema 4D. Noseman’s suggestion pointed me in the right direction but I need to read up on baking textures. I’ve got everything set up like he suggested but when I bake, the data from the lights isn’t showing up.

But they do a lot more besides, just trying to help

Yes, that’s true. Not trying to put your post down, sorry if it came across that way.