create aerodynamically visible air

i’ve seen some ad that has a moving car and a simulation of aerodynamics (of course in natural conditions the air is invisible)…
ive been wondering, how to create a thin layer of air that simulates such motion, flowing along a curved entity, is it done using maya fluids or just particles…
if using maya fluid, i cant set goal(s) to the object,
if using particles, what do i use for the air? what type of shader or maybe other methods…

im still very new to dynamics, happen to know a bit of this and that, but sometimes curiosity kills…

ive been wondering, how to create a thin layer of air that simulates such motion, flowing along a curved entity

thats named a [b]wind tunnel[/b] if im not mistaking

if using maya fluid, i cant set goal(s) to the object,
if using particles, what do i use for the air? what type of shader or maybe other methods…

No matter what approach you choose (can be done with both), your curved entity must be a collision object and not a goal.

Load one of the fluid simulation windTunnel example files and do fluids->makeCollide on
your object.

Duncan

ah…so that’s it… a wind tunnel, so its called …
u ppl are so lucky to have english as your mother tongue…i struggled a bit there…heh…
the simulation is ok, unfortunately not quite the ones i wanted…as i created my own windtunnel and created a “going uphill”/ascending (huh?) curved plane, the air seemed to clog or congest,
i actually wanted to create a thin ribbon shaped flow with varied curves and varied endpoint inside the boundary box, that’s why it is so important to have a "particle flow on a “goal"ed surface” like motion, where the fluid is restricted/ or sort of stuck to the curve surface that i created…
do i have to use some expression or is there other methods upon doing it?
thanx for the assistance guys…