Copy an object with Python tag

Hi all,

I am a beginner in python, I have problem to copy an object using python tag. the problem is when I click anywhere the script make an copy (infinite)

I want to make only one copy

below the script and c4d  file + screen shot:

import c4d
     from c4d import gui

def main():

obj_parent = doc.SearchObject("Parent")

obj_to_copy = doc.SearchObject("Cube")
     	new_obj = obj_to_copy.GetClone()

doc.InsertObject(new_obj, parent=obj_parent)

c4d file: copy_object_python.c4d

[img]http://www.c4dcafe.com/ipb/uploads/monthly_2015_10/copy_object_python.jpg.fb10f31c43df4acefbec87d790651d90.jpg[/img]

I don’t think, you want to use the Python tag for this task. Instead use the Script Manager from the Script menu. There you can set up a script that behaves basically like a command and can be executed on click.

It is a very common misunderstanding in the use of Python tags: many people think they can use them for just anything because Python is a general language. But there is one handicap: execution timeframe.

Tags are evaluated every time the object tree itself is evaluated. Which is very, very often (even during seemingly simple operations, like moving the view). Why is that done? Because potentially any change in the scene may have an effect on something and require a change. If your Python tag for example determines an object’s color by the position of the camera… it needs to be executed at any movement of the camera.

That leads to two main tenets in using Python tags: 1. Do not make changes to the object tree (generally) that you don’t want to be executed repeatedly, and 2. Make it swift so the execution duration doesn’t go through the roof (return as early as possible, do not perform unnecessary calculation).