Characters for my film (advice needed)

Hi,

These are some characters from a film I’m working on. I’m going for sort of a Disney/animated-look, but done in 3D. The hard part is doing stuff like thie wolf character’s fur. When rendered, he seems to have kind of a clay or plastic like appearance. Is there any way to make him less…shiny??? My problem is that I’m trying not to use textures unless I absolutely have to. One reason is to keep the traditional look of 2D animated films. The other reason is to save on time. One of the areas I’m NOT good at is texturing, so I’m trying to surface these characters JUST with base color attributes. Bad idea? What would some other possible solutions be? I just want these characters to look cool, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

-Brian

Here’s the second character…

Depending on what exactly you want it to look like, you can try gradients in the color and diffuse channel to soften him up.
Have you taken a look at the unReal shader? You can get a nice 2d/3d look with that.
This is a bear I made for a project that had an illustrative look to it, I used the unReal shader and a few basic color maps.

But since you say you aren’t good at texturing, isn’t that a good excuse to try?

I am sorry, I can’t help you with your texturing problem, as I am still very new to Lightwave.

But, I do want to say that I like your characters, especially the wolf. I think that you have done very well with getting the Disney kind of style.

I am looking forward to seeing the short.

Sanby

You’ve nailed the style with your first (human) character.

Keep us up to date with how you progress the look of these with texturing/colouring… I’m about to start work on a short in the Warner Bros. animation style, and I’m probably going to run into the same issues.

I was looking at using the Unreal cel shader too, but this thread has also caught me eye. Might be worth it for the extra speed.

How were you intending to do the backgrounds/environments?