Character WIP - Elf dude

hey guys, been awhile… I’m just getting started on a new model, and looking for any crits you can offer. So far he’s sitting at around 1700 tris, I’m not really all that concerned about polycount. I’m not sure if I should suit him up in armor, or go lightweight leather style… anyway thanks for looking.

no crits at all, very nice mesh work :thumbsup:

haven’t worked on him too much, just trying to work out a decent looking concept. I took some elements from FF Tactics I liked. I can’t decide if I should leave him as an elf, since so far its only his pointy ears… the rest would show itself in the color and textures on his armor (probably go with some tree/leaf motifs). Anyway, fire away!

The hair in your first post looks almost “painterly”, was that your intention? If it is it will be interesting how you apply that aesthetic to the rest of the model.

Good luck and keep going! :buttrock:

I like the concept, it feels nice and solid all the way down to the hips, below I’m not to sure. The shoulders and everything else seems very functional and reasonable flexible, especially the joints by the feet on the other hand seem very stiff. Maybe have another whack at them? At least that’s my suggestion :]

Lower armor doesn’t need to be all that flexible, but I agree that it doesn’t quite match the look of the upper armor. I’ll probably add more pieces to the foot (in texture), like this picture shows, so that it has some flexibility. I also changed his ears… so… well, so much for the elf wip! its now a knight wip.

Looking good keep working :wink:

yeah nice work, your character model is great jfalconer be looking in here for your next update.

:slight_smile:

Gave him a new haircut because the old one was too simple (and easy)… that took awhile! and detailed the greaves… will start on the arms next. Thanks for the encouragement guys!