Celulight Technology Preview - Cel Shading in After Effects

Here’s a little plug-in for After Effects that I’ve been working on for a while. It’s somewhat based on my Normality relighting suite, but rather than using pre-rendered normal maps, Celulight lets you shade and light directly from outline drawings or cels.

This can give a really fresh 3D look to cartoons or anime.

Celulight offers regular diffuse and specular shading as well as a new cel shader to simulate the characteristic multi-shade look of the more expensive 2D animation films.

Celulight is not ready for release quite yet, but I’ve prepared some samples and more information on my website: Celulight Technology Preview

I’d really like to hear if there’s any demand for this plug-in. Is this something that would be interesting to the After Effects community?

Looking forward to hear your thoughts and comments!

im a newbie with AE but i think this plugin will be useful specially with some logos (besides cartoons) is there a way to flatten some areas if you dont wish to have emboss look?

btw this plugin promising!

double post

The biggest problem for most people will still be creating the normal maps which is the ultimate limiting factor. Once that hurdle is overcome, people certainly will have lots of fun.

Mylenium

Ah, but that’s the cool part: Celulight creates the normal map itself from the outlines! All you need to feed it is an outline drawing or a flat shaded toon cel.

By the way, if anybody has some nice outline drawings, comics or colored cels they’d like to see shaded, I’d love to try it out on them… I’m not a great draftsman, so my resource of graphics to test with is a bit limited :wink:

Ah, I see. That part was unclear to me. Then it’s certainly going to be easy-peasy.

Mylenium

It looks great… I would love to try it ^^

Looks very interesting.
thanks for posting!

Sounds really cool :slight_smile: !

[left]well, sounds really interesting.