Capcom Character Rigging/Shoulders?

Hi All,

i’ve been creating and creating Game characters for 7 years usually using 3dsmax CS but have never managed to achieve the kind of results seen in titles such as capcoms, granted alot of there games are heavily character based beatem ups etc so they really need to make there characters near flawless. but have a look at the gallery at this link http://www.crim.jp/index2.html
see how the shoulder never crumbles like so many titles. this area is usually the biggest problem. but also how do they do the hair? dynamically updated bones in code? gravity weighted verts?

any help from anyone in the know or the people who created these kinda results would be great.

Thanks
Col

For shoudlers try to mimic real muscles which are in this area (find some reference on the web or buy an anatomy book). Use bones with expressions which allows them to stretch when you pull ik end effector (so bones stretch like real muscles). I can’t give you Max specific instruction right now unfortunately.

CS is really basic stuff, you can’t go too far with it.

take a look at the work that 5 guys (and one girl) did in brasil for one of the biggest TV channels in america TV GLOBO, (3 month period)

it was all 3dsmax and CS4, stretchy bones and springs controllers.

it does the job, and its pretty basic, but in the hands of a open minded artist is a very powerful tool.

http://www.seagullsfly.art.br/

(the main page is a dumb 4MB flash movie…)

http://www.seagullsfly.art.br/videos/vinheta%20-%20globeleza.zip 10MB qt SPOT

http://www.seagullsfly.art.br/videos/making%20of%20-%20globeleza.zip 25 MB qt MAKING off

hope you figure out the rest…

Hi, Thanks for the great replies, that making of movie was exactly what i need for cheap shoulder bones. problem is i can’t mimic it in max at all! granted i’m usinf cs3.4 and max 5 (i’m sure there are some toys in 6 that may make this easier.
-i tried it with normal bones.