Can I lock points or polygons?

I’m new to Cinema 4D (just migrated from 3DS Max) and can’t seem to find how to lock points or polygons in place.

Say for instance I have a plane where I want the edges to stay in the same place no matter what i do to the rest of the mesh. How do I make them stay? I’ve searched both the manual and Internet without any luck and hope that any of you can help a noob out…

Kind regards
Fredrik

There’s no direct way to do that in Cinema, AFAIK. One thing you can do in point mode is select the points and hide them, but that won’t prevent movement in edge or poly mode.

Thank you Adam!

I’ll just have to make do without that then…

You can do that very easy if you have access to the Character stuff inside C4D.

Select your points to be fixed, go to Character -> Commands and click “Set Cluster” Now you’ll
have a cluster object beneath your object and a null, which the selected points are tied to.
This Null can be prevented from moving by giving it a protection tag.

Like Adam said you can’t but there is a trick. You will use the CorrectionDeformer to modify the mesh.
-Make a selection tag for the points on the object you don’t want to move.
-Ctrl click on the Edges Icon in the menu to make an edge selection out of those points. Invert the edge selection and create a selecton tag for it.
-Give your object a CorrectionDeformer.
-Give the CorrectionDeformer a Restriction tag.
-Drag and drop the PointSelection tag in a link field of the Restriction tag.

In principle it’s already working, the points are locked but you will still see the edges move around and that’s distracting.

Drag the edge selection tag from your object to the CorrectionDeformer and hide the edges.

The points can still be manipulated with the Magnet tool or Brush tool

Question though…
You mean lock them while you’re modeling, or lock them while animating?