C4D quirks that make my work stressful

Hi there,

I’ve been using C4D for about 15 years. I enjoyed and still enjoy a lot of things about it but there are some that over time started feeling more and more annoying to a point where now I extremely frustrated and when it comes to work with it I really hope it is not for an animation job (and, of course, it always is).

I’m currently on R21.

So, here it is, In no particular order:

• Viewport is too slow to get a sense of how the animation looks. More often than not the user needs to spend a good amount of time optimizing the scene, creating low-poly objects, instancing, using layers and so on. Even Blender 2.8 feels faster and it’s slower than previous releases .
  • The shortcuts are a nightmare: sometimes the S which is used to focus the selected object doesn’t work in the viewport. Sometimes it affects the camera. There’s an undo for the camera and one for the rest and this often leads to confusion.
  • When playing back the animation the user needs to have the cursor over the viewport with the active camera or else, the animation will play back in one of the other viewports
  • Sometimes, deleting a keyframe in the curve editor deletes the entire curve
  • Shift + G affects both timeline and groups in the object manager. If the user press Shift + G and the mouse is by mistake slightly over the OM and there’s a group, whatever is grouped is then ungrouped!
  • The mystery of F-Curve: the slightest change in the curve handles can have a tremendous effect on how the animation looks. Never had such a problem in 3ds Max, Softimage, or Blender. Cinema is the only one where animation curves are so sensitive to the tiniest changes. It drives me crazy.
  • 2 times out of 3 I try to click on the Gizmo and I end up clicking on the next object in the scene. Also, trying to pick one of the gizmo axis is often a challenge.

How can people animate with C4D? Is there some secret I’m missing?