Best 3D Software for Fur/Hair Rendering

Hello, I’m new here but not new to CG. For the past 5 years I’ve been using Blender and that is how I started learning 3D and how I improved, however, there are things within Blender that I’m not happy with, at least as of 2.78c.

I’m a person that enjoys Sculpting characters, Humans, animals, fantasy critters, whatever it might be, then texturing them, rigging them and sometimes animating them and making some small animations with them. However, with many of my characters I’d like to use Fur or Hair and this is my biggest complain with Blender.
When it comes to Hair/Fur and Particles in general. I find it nigh impossible to get decent results with Hair Particles and becomes a very tedious process of any character creation to me. This is what essentially has led me to search for new software that might do a better job. But apparently there are many outhere and I’m not sure exactly which one I should get, considering they require quite a bit of an investment.

I would like to avoid Autodesk if possible because they don’t have a perpetual license, and cashing out almost 250 a month or paying 2000 yearly is not something I want to do. I’d rather pay 2000 or 3000 for a perpetual license without having to pay again ever then a subscription system. Much like Algorithmic Substance Tools which I do own.

So, with that mind, which Software outhere has the best Hair/Fur tools and rendering capabilities?

Also, I apologize for my poor English. It’s not my main language.

Well you actually have more than one need.

1. Building Controlling fur (short non-dynamic hair)
  2. Building and Controlling Hair (longer dynamic hair -blowing in the wind, colliding with the body,
  3. You also mentioned particles-technically a different but related feature.
  4. Rendering.

So if not Autodesk or Blender gives you C4D or Houdini.