Basic 2d spline functionality

These may be some of the stupidest musings ever… I’m new to C4D so maybe I’m just not adjusting well. These points/questions all refer to working with splines in 2d, although many of the functions work fine with 3d objects. I’m using ver 8.5

1). Weld vertices of a spline in 2D.

If I have 2 separate lines in one spline (I’ve used connect to join them) and I move the vertices of the end points of each line together so that they are coincident and try to weld them… nothing happens. If I do this in 3d they weld no problem… Maybe I’m using the wrong tool? So how do I join 2 vertices together in 2d?

2). Connect two points together

Similarly if I have 2 or more lines and I want to connect them there seems to be no easy way of doing it. The join segment seems to always join the “first” vertex of one line with the “last” point of the other line.

In nearly every app I’ve used you can join any two points… you just draw to connect point A to B… simple. But C4D decides which points to join for you based on the points sequence. Before you join two points together you need to ensure that they are in the correct sequence and then C4D joins them. Is there a way around this arcane method?

3). Trim lines

If two or more lines cross over each other you can I trim the lines at the point of intersection… simple basic functionality but I can’t see how to do it.
It would be easy to get around if I could do 4 and 5

4). Select a segment of a line

I have the “Edge tool” (Point, Edge & Polygon) selected, but nothing happens… I can’t select an edge. It only works in 3d. The only way I can move a segment is to select the vertices at either end and move them. It would be better if you could select segments as entities in their own right… that way you could perform operations at the segament level.

5). Delete a segment of a spline