Autodesk compulsary subscriptions

Hello all, i am just posting to get feedback on an issue i have with autodesk subscriptions. I purchaced 3ds max version 7 a number of years ago and kept a subscription going for several years. I have sinced moved on to other software but use max occasionally for spacific tasks. I have just recieved the following mail from autodesk.

"Our records show that your Autodesk Subscription contract has expired which could mean that your firm is benefiting from using software, for which it is no longer eligible.

Unfortunately, without a Subscription contract, you are not licensed to use previous versions of Autodesk software; these need to be removed from both office and home computers.

We would also like to take this opportunity to focus on the positive benefits of maintaining your Autodesk Subscription:"

I may be being a little nieve here but are autodesk really allowed to stop me useing software i paid for in full, I am a freelancer and the annual subscription is prohibitivley expensive in the current economic climate.

can anyone shed any light on this.

Cheers

I think that since you changed to a subscription that you we’re benefiting from alot cheaper rates than buying each copy because your we’re “licencing” it for a year only. Then they are probably right. whether thats right or wrong morally is another question. But I’d guess the licence you agreed when you signed up for subscription based payments will be correct unfortunatly.

I should have read the small print,

Would i be within my rights to use the origional max 7 i paid full price for initially?

It seems that autodesk has adopted a really heavy handed stance now it has got a tighter grip on the 3d app market.

Hmmm…I dont know if they can stop you using a licence you have paid for…assuming you are all payed up to the latest version of MAX that your subscription allows.