Attach or link particles to objects in pflow.

Hi,

I am fairly new at Pflow so maybe someone can help me out. I have a pflow system which after finding a target, the particles attach themselves onto an object. The problem is once they are attached, I cannot keep them attached while that object is moving and rotating. I need to have the particles moving with the object and maintaining the orientation of the main object. I know there are ways to just attach those particles while the object is moving, but once the object rotates, the particles do not stay at their position on the surface. I hope this makes sense.

Bish…

Hello there,

I see what you mean, I think the following will help you:

take the output of your “find target” test in your initial event
link it to a “position objet” operator, ans set the target object as the emitter
select “lock on emitter” and “animated shape”

as soon as the particles are hitting the object, they stick to it and respect its movement.

hope that helps

Mark’Huss

The Position Object operator has a deficiency in this task. For a new particle coming into event, it disrespects the current particle position and generates a new one on the surface of the object. As a result, there is a visual “jump” in the placement of a particle.

The only way to resolve this problem with the standard Particle Flow operators is heavy scripting.

Thanks,
Oleg B.

And yes, Position Object doesn’t control the orientation of the particles. Please look at the thread

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=152367

It might have some relevant information for you.

Thanks,
Oleg B.