Art Institute = Diploma Mill?

http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~polycount/ubb/Forum1/HTML/011144.html?00028

Anybody care to elaborate on this discussion about Art Institutes?

In that thread I talk to Alumnis of AI that pretty much state the school just put them in debt and didn’t prepare them for the job market…anybody wanna elaborate?

Here we go again.

This topic has been coverered so many times on many different forums. You could find a few posts if you did a search here.

The general feeling about AI is that it’s not a great school, because a lot of people who go there should not be there. There are better alternatives. My advice is don’t go there if you are a complete novice. It’s better for more experienced people, I found, even tho 75% of the people there seem to have very little art background. Go to a real art school, I wish I had.

If you suck it doesn’t matter where you go. Just because you go to Ringling or whatever, doesn’t mean you are going to be an ace and walk into a great job. I got accepted into the Maryland Institute of Art(not AI affiliated and requires portfolio submission) with a scholarship and Ringling. Unfortunately, one of my reference letters did not get there in time and poof good bye.