Any word/rumblings on Painter XI?

Just curious?

Thanks.

Well they should… PS CS4 will have a new feature that will certainly going to threaten Painter’s sale. Even now, I’ve read and heard about people waiting for CS4 to come out rather than to invest in a copy of Painter X. With the MAJOR issues that Painter X is having, I’m not surprised.

If Corel doesn’t fix the MAJOR issues in Painter, I’m afraid the future of Painter seems bleak. I am a loyal user of Painter, but the downsides of using Painter is really pushing the limits of my patience.

Yeah, I read something about that… thinking what has always held PS back in many of our eyes is Painter’s vastly superior brush engine. I also much prefer how Painter let’s us pick colors.

I “grew up” on Painter w/only a little PS (as a neophyte I knew P was no match for PS color correction or editing in that way). To this day I look at work in PS and wonder how they even did it (not to mention there are all these weird tiles etc, in PS, to make the brushes work speedily – and my macs have horsepower and gobs of memory – I just don’t “get it” in PS – but I really the vast majority out there says that about P, especially from years past when P’s interface was way more un-PS like). My forays into PS “art” were dismal compared to how my work flow goes in P. One gentleman put it to me this way “In P one just needs to paint, in PS one needs to know ‘tricks’”. That resonanted w/ me.

So, switching to PS for now would be an uncomfortable move for me, but that’s a possibility as you mention w/PS improved brushes? Who knows? But yes, in behooves us and Corel to be aggressive – Heck who wouldn’t be happy if Corel would do “yesterday’s technology” and take advantage of multiple core machines, as mentioned here before.