Animation: Beaver and Platypus

–SEE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE, TOP OF SECOND PAGE FOR TOON SHADER TUTROIAL–

Here’s a project im working on at uni. I’m studying a bachelor of creative industries (communication design) at QUT.
I’m using Maya 5.0, mental ray, maya fur effects

My story will be about a canadian beaver who has somehow found himself in australia where he
meets up with an aussie platypus and wombat.

The characters still need to be given more ‘character’. They’re a bit too generic right now.

The style of the character came from one of the first sketches i’d done.

Here’s basically where I’m at:

Wire:

Toon Shade

Different fur styles:

I like the goofy look of the second fur, I’m thinking about using that style for the beaver and the smoother fur for the platypus.

I’ll post some test animations real soon aswell.
Of course all crits + comments + ideas welcome :slight_smile:
Chowder

its funny, and promise for a good animation. One crit at the moment would be, during your ToonShade make the beaver have 2 teeth, or at least a line in between to show its two teeth. Do you see what i mean?

woops. this post shouldnt be here. wont let me delete so disregard

guitarhero14
Yeah, I need to get the toon shader working properly and tweek the model a bit but i intend to have a line between the teeth

The story’s gonna have alot of good ol aussie humour in it and I’m going to be spending alot of time on this so I hope the animation will be good.

Anyway here are some animation tests to see how the fur would deform. There are alot but I want to show how I’ve got to the point I’m at.

Please note that I haven’t got the toon shader working properly in these animations and the rig and animation are just quick setups to test the movement of fur and are not what is going to be used for the final animation.

Model Rotation

http://www.shaun-maluga.com//Media/CGTalk_Posts/beavers/01_Rotate.mov

I extruded some edges to see how it would hold as a simple fur