Am I getting too optimistic to learn this art at AGE 40?

Hello All,

I am a newbie in this space, but eager to understand every bit of it. Professionally a software engineer with 14 years of work-ex. I can so many courses/workshops coming up but confused where to start with. Did some research on tools and found Blender is open source so was thinking to learn it. Have few questions -

1. What are some of the good courses I can start with?
  2. If in case I dont have the tool do you give access to your tools during the course for performing labs?
  3. I am based in India, in general courses happen in which time-zone?

Looking forward for your help!
Regards

It’s crucial you set your goals in the importance order, so you don’t waste too much time learning what’s unnecessary exactly for the task being done. Also you need to understand who you want to be exactly, as there are myriads of professions in this area.
It makes sense utilizing your current knowledge, being on a technical side. Is that what you want?

Thank you so much for your response. So I dont see myself as an modeller to design the characters, what I want to learn is how to put all the pieces together to create an awesome video.

Could you provide examples of your inspiration, of your final reel vision?

For example https://vimeo.com/147289834

Or https://vimeo.com/236684555

A question: are you a coder at heart, or did you do it for the money?? Because if not, then you can try combining the two!! ie. you can be a software artist! (which is something that intrigues me GREATLY - I’ve given serious thought to doing this myself!) This would entail say, fiddling with the languages inside 3D packages, such as MaxScript for Max, or Python for Blender etc; or, you could try fiddling with a language like Processing - www.processing.org .

Where in India are you? :slight_smile: