adjust the size of an object to another one

Hi !
Here is my problem.

I need to replace all the windows of a city by new ones.
So I wrote a simple script that duplicates my new window and position and rotate it at each old window. I used the xform command to get the translate and rotate values.
The problem is I also need the new window to be the same size (width and lenght, I don’t need depth) as the old ones which are all of different size. Furthermore all old windows’ scale attributes are not the same, some are 1 and others are 1.2 … etc…

Well that’s not an easy thing to do for me as I’m just a beginner in Mel.
Thanks in advance for your help !

I would advise you to work on a boundingbox size based methon instead of getting the scale. I do not know if the following lines could get the boundingbox size of a group of objects… But let’s try :wink:

float $surfaceMinX = `getAttr ($surface+".boundingBoxMinX")`;
float $surfaceMaxX = `getAttr ($surface+".boundingBoxMaxX")`;
float $surfaceMinY = `getAttr ($surface+".boundingBoxMinY")`;
float $surfaceMaxY = `getAttr ($surface+".boundingBoxMaxY")`;
float $surfaceMinZ = `getAttr ($surface+".boundingBoxMinZ")`;
float $surfaceMaxZ = `getAttr ($surface+".boundingBoxMaxZ")`;

And as you know max-min returns the length :thumbsup:

Thanks french mate !

Actually I tried to use the exactWorldBoundingBox command to store the min/max values in a float array, then assign (setAttr) the max-min result (lenght) to the scale of my new window.
This new window is a square plane originally scaled to 1 1 1, and has a lenght of 1. So I thought if I gave its scale the value of the other object’s boundingbox, it’s own boundingbox would be the same… but it doesn’t work, I’m not very good in maths !
Any idea ?

So I thought if I gave its scale the value of the other object’s boundingbox, it’s own boundingbox would be the same…