A Brick Heart!

Hi there, really stumped on something here. Put simply I am trying to build a heart out of bricks.

The bricks need to animate as if they are ‘building’ the heart, and I thought I could use the Cloner and apply the clones to the surface of the heart. The problem is I don’t have any control over where they appear, they all overlap (I tried the push apart deformer) and so it’s all quite random, plus it doesn’t show a build.

I looked into changing the cloner so it filled the volume, add some dynamics, but obviously they all

just collapse inside and are not uniform (as you would expect). I tried the Surface Deformer too but that doesn’t achieve what I need so wondering if I need x-particles or something? I have never used that before.

If anyone has any ideas to point me in the right direction I can try other methods!

Have you tried a voronoi fracture to slice and dice the heart in small brick-like cubes?

Then with a simple plain effector + falloff you could control how the brick appear and build up.

Hi Eric, I have not heard of this! I will check it out, thanks :slight_smile:

Here’s a very crude example

Well I think you’ve cracked it! I will use Voronoi fracture! Amazing, thanks so much Eric

Hmm, I can see that you can use different shapes in the Voronoi ‘Sources’ panel, but you have used a Cylinder here to create the brick shapes. I can’t replicate that so tried the cube but get similar results. The tutorial I just tried doesn’t explain the odd behaviour I am getting… Are you using another setting?

I removed/unticked the cylinder cap to only cut stuff from the sides.

Also I used “hull only” and entered a thickness of the wall in the voronoi fracture.

Awesome thanks, I was able to get a good effect using the ‘Matrix’ as Source too, thanks again for your help :grinning: