3dsmax and fire

I have done little research how to make fire in 3dsmax.
And here is the best tutorial to make fire which I found.
Allan Mckay Fire Tutorial
Allan Mckay’s fire looks very good, but it isn’t what I’m looking for.

I have also tested AfterBurn, but its much better for explosions than for camp fire, of course I’m not very good with anyway. So it would be nice to how good results some little more experienced can get with it.
AfterBurn

Another plugin for fire I know, is Phoenix. Its very simple to use and I like it much, but it isn’t realistic.
Phoenix

ChaosGroup is making another plugin for realistic fire called AURA, which looks much better than Phoenix. But that ain’t ready or even in public beta testing stage (as far as I know).
AURA

Here is some pictures I found with Google to explain what kind of fire I’d wanna get.

Fire 01
Fire 02

Now, I’d like to see what is the best fire You have ever done with 3dsmax, using plugins or without. I’d also like to hear detailed explanation how you did it. Fire should be animatable and 3D, not just a plane with fire animation.

Here is my best fire, I used 3dsmax5.1 and Phoenix.
My Fire Test

It has only one problem. It doesn’t look good on any other object than plane, with teapot it came out far too chaotic, flames going in every possible direction and so on… Heheh, so not very usefull. Its animatable and 3D. Bottom part looks good, but upper part of fires are bit weird, never got it fixed.

I hope others have made something more usefull and even better looking fire. :slight_smile:

EDIT: Fixxed link names… :rolleyes:

Hi.
By tweaking Phoenix parameters you can obtain more than decent results.
Another solution is to film real fire on a black background and attach the video to a particle system, very CPU consuming though.
:-))
If you have the plug go for Phoenix, the help inside is pretty good.
Hope that helps. Don’t necessarily look for something that’s not out yet, explore what you’ve got…