2K Film Resolution

Hi,

I keep hearing about film format being “2K resolution” but could anyone help clarify for me how does this translate to pixels? I am a Maya newbie, but I am interested in making a 3D animated short film which I can play at festivals, also I simply want to get used to producing film resolution renders since my interest is mainly to work in 3D for the feature film industry.

A few film-related websites say that 2K is 2048 x 1536 but that doesn’t seem right since the aspect ratio would then be 4:3 (television) instead of the 1:1.85 or 1:2.35 used for film. Furthermore the render globals on Maya has a “2K” (as well as 3K and 4K) option which produces a 2048 x 2048 square, so that begs the question is it done this way and then cut down later into the appropriate aspect ratio?

Is there anyone who knows the industry standards for how 3D output for film is handled?

Additionally, Leigh van der Byl mentioned in one of her tutorials on this site that calculation of image size for texturing should be based on final output resolution x 2, but my question is, does this hold up for extreme closeup shots for example zooming in on my character’s lips or eye? or do I need to anticipate using extreme closeups and make a larger map?

Basically I’ve made a few practice models, and now I want to go for making a proper head model which will holdup its photorealism under extreme closeups.

All insight and participation welcome, cheers!

Film, that’s 35mm or 16mm (or good old hardcore 8mm) is 4:3, BUT, the aspect ratio you mention should have given you a clue already…Film usually uses anamorphic screens (they record on 4:3 material using a lens that squeezes the shot material in width, when projecting it back on screen it gets stretched again to restore the original ratio)