20+ Years Retouching....

Hi Gang:

Just thought I would introduce myself. I’ve been retouching for over 20 years.
If anyone has any questions I’d be happy to answer them.

Here is my online portfolio:

http://www.retouch.ca

Please Enjoy!

Glenn

Beautiful work.

How much of the alterations are completely repainted vs borrowed from other supplied or shot photo sources vs 3d generated?

On the toaster or soup ladle reflections, for example, do you mainly go in and repaint from scratch?

Hi Joseph:

>> How much of the alterations are completely repainted vs borrowed from other supplied or shot photo sources vs 3d generated?<<

It really depends on the image. On the soup laddle, I only had one image to work with. I remember I had to mask shapes and then brush in shapes and color. I did the same thing for the toaster image. The toast was a separate image if memory serves me well. I lot of brushing in color. I typically take readings of surrounding color, mask the area I wish to paint and brush and build up the color with a low opacity brush. I’ll then add a small amount of noise to break-up the smoothness of the brushing.

I will also look through the individual channels of color (typically work in CMYK) , some have more information or shape to them than others, so I’ll use a Channel Mix to adjust the shape/color.

Hope that helps, Glenn

Very interesting. Thanks

Hi Glenn,

I’ve been retouching a few years now, but most of my background has been producing digital prints for photographers. Since going freelance, I’m finding that most ad agencies will do all of their work in CMYK mode. I often wonder if it’s just my imagination, but when working in CMYK, I’m finding that I need to adjust some of the techniques which I used to use in RGB. Obviously some filters don’t work, but there seem to be more subtle issues going on with curves and the dodge and burn tools. Is it just me?