Machineflesh 3D Challenge Entry: Bob Estrin

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

06 June 2004
Machineflesh 3D Challenge Entry: Bob Estrin

Bob Estrin has entered the Machineflesh 3D Challenge.

06 June 2004
Concept Sketch: hard life

Hi my name is Bob Estrin and I am a 3d digital stills artist. I use Cinema 4d r8.5. This is the concept sketch for my charcater. I have typed a full page description of him and a 5 paragraph lifestory. Both got blow away. Since im entering this contest allitle late im not gonna type it again. This was just a quick sketh (not very detaild) to give me an idea of the character before i started modeling.

Basically he has had a hard life and sustained many injuries to his right side. He has voulantered to be the test subject for a new age medicine of biomechanical replacements integrated directly into the body. Since the surgery used to add these artificial organs is very risky he is paid hansomley for it. Though nothing to serious has gone wrong the character is very suspicious of all people and choses to live a rather secretive life.

06 June 2004
Concept Sketch: machine parts concept

this is a concept sketch i did after modeling the base character to give a litle more detail to the mechanical parts which i would model next.

06 June 2004
Modeling: modeling basic form

the mesh was subdivision modeled and the resulting mesh ended up with 382972 polygons. Because i have limited computer power i posed the model and split it into groups. In this image the face group is selected and the polys that make up the metal plate surounding the eye are selected for texturing.

06 June 2004