CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2011, 03:51 PM   #1
mechaniac
Polygon Banger
 
mechaniac's Avatar
portfolio
Christof Stanits
Freelancer
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 271
Ambient Occlusion Pass White

hello guys,

I do have a problem with creating an Occlusion pass with the mental ray passes. Ive tried it several times on different projects and it never worked. I always had to go back to using render layers, but I think using a pass would be way more comfortable and I wanted to give it another shot on my current project.
Still no luck. It always renders blank white.
Ive created a testscene with some cubes to demonstrate the issue. As you can see, when using the renderlayer it works fine.


but when I want to use a render pass



Anybody knows what this is about?
__________________
The Red Room
www.stan.at
 
Old 07-06-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
JWRodegher
-
 
JWRodegher's Avatar
portfolio
Jonathan W Rodegher
Lead Lighter
Brown Bag films
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,293
Send a message via AIM to JWRodegher Send a message via MSN to JWRodegher
Have you checked in indirect lighting in the mental ray tabs, that you have ambient occlusion "on"?
If you havenīt checked it, check, if it isnīt "on", turn it on and then test the pass again. It should work.
 
Old 07-06-2011, 08:22 PM   #3
brucem91
Frequenter
portfolio
Bruce Murray
GoldenSaber Productions
Valencia, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWRodegher
Have you checked in indirect lighting in the mental ray tabs, that you have ambient occlusion "on"?
If you havenīt checked it, check, if it isnīt "on", turn it on and then test the pass again. It should work.

This will fix it, yes. I am curious as to why you would prefer the AO pass vs a render layer. I always create my AO in a render layer, I personally find I get more control with the mr ao shader vs the pass AO settings.
__________________
iMac 2.93 i7, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, ATI 5750 1 GB Ram
Dell Precision M6500 1.6 i7, 160 GB HDD, 100 GB HDD, Nvidia Quadro 2800m 1 GB Ram
 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:20 AM   #4
JWRodegher
-
 
JWRodegher's Avatar
portfolio
Jonathan W Rodegher
Lead Lighter
Brown Bag films
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,293
Send a message via AIM to JWRodegher Send a message via MSN to JWRodegher
If you use the "ao pass" instead of render layer, you get normal/bump/displace detail with it, that's pretty neat. Plus you have less layers in your render setup and narrow down the chances for maya to screw up your scene. That's always a good thing.
 
Old 07-07-2011, 08:47 AM   #5
mechaniac
Polygon Banger
 
mechaniac's Avatar
portfolio
Christof Stanits
Freelancer
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 271
thanks guys! that did it!
much appreciated
__________________
The Red Room
www.stan.at
 
Old 07-07-2011, 08:47 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.