CGTalk > Software > Blender
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2003, 06:31 PM   #1
polygnome
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17
a few questions

Well, i used blender for a little more than 6 months and i really like the program. But what questions me is a mirror functino in Blender, how do I mirror a mesh? Also, if someone knows *working* SMD exprter for gmax v 1.0/1.1, please, post a link here.
 
Old 10-28-2003, 09:48 PM   #2
dreamsgate
Frequenter
 
dreamsgate's Avatar
Sandra Gilbert
Graphic Designer
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 241
Mirroring is simple

Select your object, take your hand off the mouse(very important). Push "S" and "X or Y" keys. Push enter.

all done
__________________
Managing Editor Blenderart Magazine:
blog | My Squidoo Lenses
 
Old 10-29-2003, 04:53 PM   #3
Apollux
Highly Inflammable
 
Apollux's Avatar
Juan
Full time Architecture student.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,126
Send a message via MSN to Apollux Send a message via Yahoo to Apollux
If you just want to mirror the mesh that you already have then do as dreamsgate told you ... not using the mouse while doing it is REALLY IMPORTANT.

But many times one wants a mirrored duplicate of a mesh.. let's say you have the left half of a head and want to create the right side by mirroing the left side.

On this case: select the original mesh, make sure you ARE NOT in edit-mode, press Alt-D to create a linked duplicate, and them select the newly created duplicate and do as dreamsgate told you. (DO NOT PLAY WIHT THE MOUSE).

Then you will need to move the mirrored half to the desired location.

There is a really easy way to let Blender automatically handle the location of the mirrored object, but I'm afraid that I can't explain it without a step-by-step screen capture .. and I don't have where to upload it. :annoyed:

SHORCUT: What dreamsgate told you can be done by just selecting the object (when it is NOT in edit-mode), press N and add a minus (-) sign before the scaling number.

For example, If you want to mirror along the Y axis, press N and it reads Size Y: 4.00 (could be any number), then you change the value to -4.00 and that does the trick!!!
__________________
Photography works (portfolio in the making)
www.apollux.smugmug.com
 
Old 10-29-2003, 06:38 PM   #4
polygnome
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17
ok, thank you i'll try that as soon as possible.
but what about those plugins for gmax? i've got four versions of smdexp.dle plugin but neither of it works :(
__________________
Let's burrrn! (Firebat - Starcraft)
 
Old 01-16-2006, 01:00 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.