CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > pmG messiah
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2003, 02:25 AM   #1
blueagave
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Missing Text

I've searched on cgtalk and the yahoo forum and couldn't find a solution ...

I am trying out the V.4 demo, and on my Nvidia FX card I don't get any text in the text input areas (transtlate, rotate, scale, etc). Everything else in the interface looks ok and I don't have any issues when using Lightwave or Cinema 4D.

I can click-drag in those areas and the arrows highlight, and I can see the effects of my changes, I just can't see any values.

I've applied all the tweaks I could find for other messiah interface issues (no OpenGL AA, vsync off, block transfer buffer swap, etc) to no avail. I've tried a couple revs of drivers, including the latest - no difference.

I don't doubt it is a video card / driver issues. I'm hoping someone can suggest a solution that doesn't require me to buy a new card to use messiah.

Thanks.
 
Old 10-27-2003, 03:12 AM   #2
Panikos
Oracle
 
Panikos's Avatar
Panikos
Filmin
Panimation Imagery
Nicosia, Cyprus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 524
Often such problems are due to your language or Small/Large fonts settings.

Play around these, soon you will find the solution.

Good luck
__________________
Light Justice
 
Old 10-27-2003, 03:21 AM   #3
Geco
Pixel Pusher
 
Geco's Avatar
Gennaro Conte
DDDWorks
Elmshorn, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 301
which nvidiafx card?
 
Old 10-27-2003, 05:10 AM   #4
blueagave
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Playing around with the font sizes didn't work (I tried small, large, and a couple specific sizes), but doing that led me to the HW acceleration option which I had forgotten about (never had to mess with it before). If I turn off all acceleration, I get the missing text. Of course that has a pretty severe impact on overall performance.

The card is a 5200 FX (not tops by any stretch, but hasn't given me any OpenGL trouble before). I'm running on Win 2K.

Thanks for the tips.
 
Old 10-27-2003, 07:23 AM   #5
lmilton
pmG-Man
co president/developer at pmG WorldWide, LLC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 577
Re: Missing Text

Quote:
Originally posted by blueagave
I've searched on cgtalk and the yahoo forum and couldn't find a solution ...

I am trying out the V.4 demo, and on my Nvidia FX card I don't get any text in the text input areas (transtlate, rotate, scale, etc). Everything else in the interface looks ok and I don't have any issues when using Lightwave or Cinema 4D.

I can click-drag in those areas and the arrows highlight, and I can see the effects of my changes, I just can't see any values.

I've applied all the tweaks I could find for other messiah interface issues (no OpenGL AA, vsync off, block transfer buffer swap, etc) to no avail. I've tried a couple revs of drivers, including the latest - no difference.

I don't doubt it is a video card / driver issues. I'm hoping someone can suggest a solution that doesn't require me to buy a new card to use messiah.

Thanks.


Hmmm... right click on the Customize tab and go to turn off GUI Style->Small Font. That will use a larger font.

Let me know if this works...

-lyle
 
Old 10-27-2003, 08:06 AM   #6
dobermunk
dobermunk
 
dobermunk's Avatar
portfolio
david maas
cg direction, concept, models & design
Ludwigsburg / Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,514
I ran into this while showing off messiah at the School I teach at. One of the students tracked it down to the hardware acceleration under the graphic card setting.
He's much more knowledgeable about the details, so I asked him to report this himself. I'll check back with him.
__________________

drip.de
 
Old 10-27-2003, 02:11 PM   #7
blueagave
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
lmilton, nope. I tried all combinations of fonts and colors in the gui menu - still no text in the text entry boxes.

Thanks for the idea though.
 
Old 10-27-2003, 03:31 PM   #8
Geco
Pixel Pusher
 
Geco's Avatar
Gennaro Conte
DDDWorks
Elmshorn, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 301
blueagave you'll find more about this issue at the pmG yahoo group, type 5200 in the search box.
 
Old 10-27-2003, 07:53 PM   #9
stanzi
New Member
Christian Stanzel
Germany
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 12
Quadro FX 500

hi lyle
i am the student dobermunk talkt about :-)
and iīll try to describe it more technically but everything importend is allready said:
we have Quadro FX500 cards and the Nvdia 45.23 drivers, Windows XP and the rest....dell worstation and so on..
i just deactivated the hardware acceleration in the "advanced" panel of the display settings...thats all and then everything was ok..and by the way itīs a great program!

hope i could help somebody
stanzi
 
Old 10-28-2003, 01:56 AM   #10
Geco
Pixel Pusher
 
Geco's Avatar
Gennaro Conte
DDDWorks
Elmshorn, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 301
Re: Quadro FX 500

Quote:
Originally posted by stanzi
... i just deactivated the hardware acceleration in the "advanced" panel of the display settings...thats all and then everything was ok ...

really?
with this fix your quadro fx 500 work probably slower than an old geforce 2.
how many fps did you get before and after?
 
Old 10-28-2003, 08:32 AM   #11
stanzi
New Member
Christian Stanzel
Germany
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 12
hmm
didnīt experience any slowdown while working in messiah
but i can check it out
 
Old 10-28-2003, 04:11 PM   #12
ljilekor
Frequenter
---
Belgium
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 269
We have the same problem at my compagny. Text doesn't display with the latest nvidia cards with the latest drivers.

Insall an older version of the driver. It worxx

Stupid though, something has to be done about it.
 
Old 10-31-2003, 05:56 PM   #13
Panikos
Oracle
 
Panikos's Avatar
Panikos
Filmin
Panimation Imagery
Nicosia, Cyprus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 524
I just bought a GForce FX 5200 and I have the missing text problem. However I managed to find a solution.

By decreasing the Display size from 1152x864 to 1024x768, the text is displayed.
__________________
Light Justice
 
Old 10-31-2003, 06:23 PM   #14
fwtep
--------
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally posted by Panikos
I just bought a GForce FX 5200 and I have the missing text problem. However I managed to find a solution.

By decreasing the Display size from 1152x864 to 1024x768, the text is displayed.
Does it work at 1280x1024?

Fred
 
Old 10-31-2003, 06:31 PM   #15
Panikos
Oracle
 
Panikos's Avatar
Panikos
Filmin
Panimation Imagery
Nicosia, Cyprus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 524
Nope.

Any size higher than 1024 (Horizontal) has the same problem.
The text at the bottom message-box dissapears, as well as the numbers in the boxes (frame #, values etc)

The rest of text on windows and buttons is Ok.

Using higher than 1152 and 256 colors, even though the messiah UI is messed, I can see the messages in the box.

I guess is a bitplane-palette problem.
__________________
Light Justice

Last edited by Panikos : 11-01-2003 at 03:59 AM.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.