CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2011, 04:49 PM   #1
YamahaAlex37
New Member
Alex Crawford
Student
Rockledge, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to YamahaAlex37 Send a message via MSN to YamahaAlex37
How do I quickly select edges for unwraps?

I am learning how to unwrap with XSI, but in the tutorials I follow the author is able to quickly select multiple edges that seem to follow along a line, like here at 0:50 seconds:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZrQtFlo7

For me, simply selecting that tool does not have the same effect. Is there a shortcut key he may be pressing to select all in between edges? Thanks!
 
Old 02-11-2011, 05:14 PM   #2
ndog
Know-it-All
 
ndog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 399
Hold Alt then middle click on an edge.
I don't know if it will work with all the selection types, try F7 through F11 to set the selection type. You'll need to check the manual to be sure.
__________________
I used to hate liver, then I met a man who didn't have one.
 
Old 02-11-2011, 08:45 PM   #3
luisRiera
Expert
portfolio
luis Riera
Graphics designer
America Television
Lima, Peru
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 452
Post

1) alt + middle click will select the entire edge loop

|_______________________________________|

|____________alt+middle click______________|


2) left click on one edge, then alt left click again in another edge along the edge loop that you want will select the edges in between them.

|_______________________________________|
"autodesk softimage" letters), click the option "select edge loop", and from there, just middle
|______click_______________alt+click________|


3) Also, you can go to the Select menu to the top right section of the UI (below the click the menu for a quick acces to the last used tool (wich would be "select edge loop")

edit: I need to add that these tips works with softimage shortcuts, found under File > Interaction model > Softimage.

Last edited by luisRiera : 02-12-2011 at 05:12 PM.
 
Old 02-12-2011, 08:31 PM   #4
YamahaAlex37
New Member
Alex Crawford
Student
Rockledge, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to YamahaAlex37 Send a message via MSN to YamahaAlex37
Thanks so much guys!

Now, is it possible to select edges without worrying about XSI selecting edges on the OTHER side of my model? It seems every time I go through selecting edges I am constantly having to flip the model around and undo the random edges that got selected.
 
Old 02-13-2011, 12:22 AM   #5
Jesse-Irvin
I ARE PANT!!
 
Jesse-Irvin's Avatar
portfolio
Jesse Taylor Irvin
Modeling Instructor
Vancouver Film School
West Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 363
use the raycast select "i" instead of the rectangle select "e" or go into the preferences and under selection turn on raycast in shaded mode
__________________
Prexis the Damned WiP

Blizzard Art Contest Entry

JesseIrvin.com

email me at: jesse@jesseirvin.com
 
Old 02-14-2011, 07:53 PM   #6
cct
Know-it-All
 
cct's Avatar
portfolio
Christian Goetzinger
Freelancer
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by luisRiera
1) alt + middle click will select the entire edge loop

|_______________________________________|

|____________alt+middle click______________|

If you first select an edge, then Alt+middle click on another edge of an edge ring, the whole edge ring gets selected. Of course all of these techniques also work with polygons. For edges I recommend using edge raycast (I), for polygons I recommend using poly raycast (U).

And you can combine the alt selections with Ctrl and/or Shift in order to add or remove from existing selections. This way you can very quickly make complex selections.

Example: You select an edge loop with Alt+middle click. Then you want to remove part of the loop. So you hold Ctrl and left click on the first edge you want removed. Then you hold Ctrl+Shift+Alt and click on the last edge you want removed. All edges between first and last will be removed.
Now you want to add an edge ring somewhere to the selection. Shift click on the first edge of the ring. Then Shift+Alt+middle click on another edge of the ring, and it gets added.
__________________

 
Old 02-14-2011, 07:53 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.