CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Compositing Software > Autodesk Effects and Compositing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 05:03 PM   #1
RickToxik
Expert
 
RickToxik's Avatar
portfolio
Eric Mc Guire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 554
Toxik/Composite motion blur

Hello!

I have a question regarding the enigmatic Toxik/Maya Composite.

I'd like to know how to use the motion blur from the reaction tool (and maybe depth of field?). It would be a great help, and despite of reading everything I have found talking about the Reaction tool, I have absolutely no idea how it works and what it does. Any tutorial for the motion blur? The help files say I need to turn on the software renderer in order to make the motion blur work. Is it another way to say: render the sequence if you would like to see the effect of this tool?

I have been using the motio tool with the blur tool until now, and I am satisfied with the workflow and results, even if I find it (motio) very slow.

Aloha
 
Old 01-12-2011, 02:06 AM   #2
RickToxik
Expert
 
RickToxik's Avatar
portfolio
Eric Mc Guire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 554
 
Old 11-05-2011, 10:07 AM   #3
KiboOst
Lord of the posts
KiboOst
R&D | Technical Director
France
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 559
mblur in reaction is different from motio/mblur tools. Reaction provide real motion blur based on layers movements in 3d environement. Motio track image references to defines some vector that will serve mblur node, like a velocity pass. About motio slowness, you can simply cache it (IR) once done. With SSD drive and proper IR on import nodes and when some part of the tree are done, I'm working on Composite in pretty realtime on standard machine (i7 8go ram).
 
Old 11-05-2011, 02:17 PM   #4
RickToxik
Expert
 
RickToxik's Avatar
portfolio
Eric Mc Guire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 554
Yeah, similar to after effect's motion blur switch on layers, rather than an image motion blur.
 
Old 11-05-2011, 02:18 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.