CGTalk > General Techniques > Compositing and Editing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 10-07-2003, 08:11 PM   #1
ClessMac

Career path question

Okay, not quite sure where to put this question, or if it's appropriate for this forum, but I'm a newb, so you can excuse this once, right?

Basically, I'm interested in several fields of video/film work, but most interested in editing and post-production. I'm currently enrolled in the digital video program at my college (James Madison University, has one of the best media arts and design schools in the state of VA). But my program seems to focus more on editing and "lower-end" (as compared to some of the stuff I see discussed here) effects, using a Final Cut Pro and After Effects workflow.

What I want to know is how much of my college education really matters once I get out "in the field?" It's obvious I'm not going to learn Shake or combustion/fire/flame here at the school, but will what I learn here lead into that kind of thing enough? I'd love to do vis effects, but does this require more of an art background? Is grad school a must, or a waste of time?

Basically, how much and what college path leads to the cool stuff, and am I on the right one? :P

--ClessMac

Old 10-07-2003, 08:44 PM   #2
Jayk2k
Know-it-All

Jason Kolodziejczak
2D Technical Lead, Digital Compositor, Fusion Training & consulting.
Toronto, Canada

I'll reply to what I know, but I'm coming from the full visual effects side of things...

You need to distiguish between art and tool. Concentrate on the art of editing, composition, pacing, etc. Once you know all the skills related to that you'll easily adapt to the tool. Whether it's avid, discreet etc. it just becomes, "where's this button?"