CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 08:26 PM   #1
New Member
André Michaud
Ottawa, Canada
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Extremely aggravating problem in 3ds max

I'm not sure if this is the right thread to post this, but what the heck.
Anyhow, i'm trying to apply a camo net to the gun of my tank(like in this tut:
but when i click on "simulate local" it works fine for a bit but as it descends down the barrel of the gun, the vertexes of my plane begin adhering to vertexes inside the barrel instead of those outside like it should be. it's extremely annoying and i'm contemplating suicide by pixie dust. Somebody please help me.


Last edited by adeepfrozenfish : 10-16-2010 at 09:08 PM.
Old 10-17-2010, 01:33 PM   #2
New Member
rbneville's Avatar
Richard Neville
Palm Coast, USA
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11

Are you sure you have collisions set right?
Old 10-18-2010, 10:10 AM   #3
New Member
André Michaud
Ottawa, Canada
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
I have no idea to be honest. First time i'm using the cloth modifier. One thing's certain though: i have the barrel and the mantle set as collision objects with a depth of 5. I'm not even sure what any of the settings except offset do.

EDIT:Actually decided to read the help documentation. didn't help because i barely even understand what it's even talking about.
Collision depth for the collision object. If a portion of cloth reaches this depth inside a collision object, then the simulation will no longer try to push the cloth out of the mesh. This value is measured in 3ds Max Design units.

Last edited by adeepfrozenfish : 10-18-2010 at 10:25 AM.
Old 10-28-2010, 09:00 AM   #4
Chris Gough
Visualisation One
Chester, United Kingdom
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
DO you have a shell modifier on the barrel? I doub't it'd make much difference but it might do. also is your scene to scale? Cloth generaly relies on scene scale.
Old 12-05-2010, 02:54 PM   #5
Obsol33t Modeller
MrJuzah's Avatar
Jay Lawrence
3D Generalist
London, GB
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 146
Send a message via MSN to MrJuzah
I get similar results with cloth when trying to simulate with the cloth already partially inside the collider.
Have you made sure your face normals aren't inverted? Is it possible that you've double-extruded somewhere? Im thinking theres quite a bit of shadow around the first scaling down of the barrel...And the cloth reacts fine for the most part around the first part of the barrel. So perhaps that edge loop is your problem.

Just grabbing at straws as we cant see the simulation. Where ever it intersects/goes haywire first, is your problem. As soon as it gets inside it will drag the rest of the cloth into the mesh
Old 12-05-2010, 07:19 PM   #6
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 352
I suggests you replace the barrel with a simple set of cylinders for the simulation. You could upload your scene for analysis too if you like.
Old 12-05-2010, 10:24 PM   #7
Obsol33t Modeller
MrJuzah's Avatar
Jay Lawrence
3D Generalist
London, GB
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 146
Send a message via MSN to MrJuzah
Goodcall Frank, i ment to say the same thing but completely forgot haha
Old 12-07-2010, 08:33 AM   #8
methodz's Avatar
Chris Campbell Chris Campbell
Design Engineer
San Francisco, USA
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 297
Cloth Simulation

check that your cloth has enough tessellation to perform the simulation. it looks like the face count is to low, also, start the simulation just above the collision object and be sure that your rigid body's are set to the correct tang ency. i.e. concave/convex. also be sure that self intersections are not aloud.

Optional solution:
try using a plane primitive in the create tab. change the length and width segments to something like 20x20 and then add the edit poly modifier followed by the cloth modifier. select the plane and choose object properties. select the plane in the left menu and then choose the cloth radio button on the right, choose a default(cotten) and adjust as needed. then at the top choose the add objects button and add the barrel. select the barroll from the left list and choose collision object at the bottem and set depth to 0.1 and hit ok. at the bottem of the modifier menu at the right you can check "enable self collisions" this will stop the plane from crossing over its self. and choose simulate!

Good Luck
Old 12-08-2010, 04:59 PM   #9
DontBlinkx182x's Avatar
Nick Colavita
3d Artist
Lake Mary, USA
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to DontBlinkx182x
Yea I agree with Frank the first thing I thought of was just create a simple cylinder witht he same dimensions as your barrel.
Old 12-08-2010, 07:36 PM   #10
Paper Pilot
BldRnr's Avatar
Alan Wilson
Maya Specialist
Paper Pilot
Mississauga, Canada
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Actually it is the cloth that must have enough tessellation to simulate or the cloth sim can't read the barrel no matter what.
Better to make an actual peice of cloth following the tutorials to make cloth.
Or follow what methodz wrote.
The main reason is the tesselation of a cloth object is much different than a regular plane. When you look at the tutorials you will see that the cloth looks like it is made with odd shaped triangles. The sim likes this type of geo better.

So methodz is correct.
Old 01-06-2011, 11:28 AM   #11
New Member
André Michaud
Ottawa, Canada
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 26
Thanks for the responses guys, only way i got around was using the cylinder for it, i'll try it again with more polys later.
Old 01-06-2011, 11:28 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.