CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > NewTek Lightwave 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2003, 07:37 AM   #1
Ultimatum
Know-it-All
portfolio
Juha Nilsen
Visualist
Finland
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 433
Modeling a light?

Hi!

Is there a way to model your own object and use it as a light?
Like a skydome or so.

When I make a skydome and make it 100% illuminated, I need to check radiosity to make it light the scene. But what if I donīt wanna use radiosity. Like if the skydome would be one huge area light which would light the scene from every direction.

Maybe you guys understand...

-Ultimatum
 
Old 09-24-2003, 07:46 AM   #2
SplineGod
Have LW, will travel.....
 
SplineGod's Avatar
3D Modeler/Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,890
Send a message via ICQ to SplineGod Send a message via AIM to SplineGod
You can create a light array for example from an object by assigning it as a luxigon. When the luxigon object is converted in layout a light (of your choice in modeler) will be created along the normal of every polygon, creating a lighting array that is the shape of the object. Is very simple to do.
You can also edit the whole light array in the spreadsheet editor in layout to quickly change the attributes of the light array all at once.
 
Old 09-24-2003, 08:14 AM   #3
Ultimatum
Know-it-All
portfolio
Juha Nilsen
Visualist
Finland
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 433
Thanks, gonna try that when I get home. Donīt have LW here at school.

Just some noob questions to get it right :

1. I make a skydome with bout 40 polys facing inwards. Then change that to a luxigon. Where do i make that assignment?

2. Do I open the object in layout like a normal object? What do I do then?


Thanks a bunch!

-Ult
 
Old 09-24-2003, 08:27 AM   #4
MrWyatt
ROTTEN USER
 
MrWyatt's Avatar
portfolio
Guillaume Wyatt
unemployed 3D-Artist
Kassel, Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 499
Send a message via ICQ to MrWyatt
there is also a plugin for HDRshop where you can use HDRimages to create an Array of Lights that use the HDR info to specify the colour and intensity of the lights. do a surch on flay for it as I cannot remember the name of these Plugs. Itīs one for HDRShop and one for LW ( a loader plugin for the lights)

edit:
just found them.
HDRShop lightgen lightgen2LW
__________________
www.mrwyatt.de

Last edited by MrWyatt : 09-24-2003 at 09:02 AM.
 
Old 01-16-2006, 06:00 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.