CGTalk > Software > Photoshop / Painter
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2003, 11:04 PM   #1
Ramon
Mr. Humble
 
Ramon's Avatar
portfolio
Ramon Alberto Garcia
Artist - concept / traditional / 3d
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 543
SMUDGE TOOL - fouled up! Help

Ok all, I have worked with Photoshop professionally since 2.5 and I can't remember ever having this problem until now...
The smudge tool is creating paint (all the times I've seen it, the paint it black) along the smudge stroke edge!!! It's driving me freaking crazy!!! I don't have finger painting on so that shouldn't be an issue.
It only happens when you drag into an image from the transparent area of the layer or when you drag out to a transparent area from a pixel area. Obviously, transparency is playing tricks here! Is this just a PC version problem? I know for sure my Mac at work didn't have this problem.
Help!
I am using PS 6.0 PC
Thanks,
Ramon
 
Old 09-23-2003, 11:32 PM   #2
JamesMK
Flipping bits
 
JamesMK's Avatar
portfolio
James Kaufeldt
Freelancer
Triassic Asylum
Kalmar, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8,335

Check the brush mode for the smudge tool. If it's set to 'luminosity' you can sometimes get this result, particularly if the foreground color chip is set to black.
__________________

xenomata

Be indiscreet - do it continuously.
 
Old 09-24-2003, 03:44 AM   #3
Ramon
Mr. Humble
 
Ramon's Avatar
portfolio
Ramon Alberto Garcia
Artist - concept / traditional / 3d
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 543
Thanks for the quick response. I have the smudge tool set to normal. Oh another thing is that the forground and or Background color doesn't seem to be affecting anything. Strange huh? I can't figure it. DOHH!!! And I real need this tool to work correctly!
 
Old 09-24-2003, 05:47 AM   #4
ambient-whisper
Gone travelling :D
 
ambient-whisper's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Martin Krol
Pixomondo
Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,631

you have fingerpainting turned on?

also check your brush properties. since you can have many shapes for the smudge tool. ( very useful at times.. to give your paintings a more Oil paint look. )
 
Old 09-24-2003, 06:40 AM   #5
Zaryin
Frequenter
portfolio
Jeffrey Bolle
Milwaukee, United States
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 273
Does the Smudge tool have the brush option for the "wet" look? If it does, it might be that.
__________________
Zaryin
 
Old 09-24-2003, 07:09 AM   #6
Ramon
Mr. Humble
 
Ramon's Avatar
portfolio
Ramon Alberto Garcia
Artist - concept / traditional / 3d
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 543
Nope, no "wet" look options. I am just using a standard round soft brush, no effects on the layer or the brush mode. I've done this many, many times in the Mac version and it works right.
 
Old 09-24-2003, 10:00 AM   #7
Ian Jones
Design & Technology
 
Ian Jones's Avatar
Ian Jones
Multimedia Technologist
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,219
arg, who knows... sometimes it can be something as silly as image mode. For example, most filters only work in rgb.
 
Old 09-24-2003, 10:47 PM   #8
Knut
Frequenter
Newsgraphic Artist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 270
Ah i have had that problem too in PS6. Can't remember having it in PS7. So maybe you'll have to do an upgrade. Try searching Adobes knowledge base.
__________________
---
 
Old 09-25-2003, 01:04 PM   #9
pat
Veteran
 
pat's Avatar
3D modeler/texture artist for a BIG game company !
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 48
Same problem for me,

I just downloaded the upgrade and I don't have this problem

http://www.adobe.com/support/downlo...latform=Windows


bye !
__________________
Une labatt d'une traite pis yť chaud fou raide Ronald...
 
Old 09-25-2003, 07:01 PM   #10
klingspor
Lord of the posts
portfolio
N/A
Afghanistan
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,109
In case what pat suggested didn't work: Do you have "lock transparent pixels" activated for your selected layer? That may cause the effect you described...
 
Old 09-25-2003, 07:12 PM   #11
ASCIISkull
Frequenter
 
ASCIISkull's Avatar
portfolio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to ASCIISkull
Lightbulb

It was a bug in PS 6.0 iirc, that can be fixed by upgrading...

I remember posting a question here about it back then, in fact...
 
Old 09-26-2003, 12:19 AM   #12
Ramon
Mr. Humble
 
Ramon's Avatar
portfolio
Ramon Alberto Garcia
Artist - concept / traditional / 3d
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 543
I FOUND THE "PROBLEM"

Thank you all for replying. Knut, pat and ASCIISKULL were correct, I have found the problem and as mentioned, it was a Photoshop 6.0 / Multiprocessor issue. it was on Adobe's knowledge base. Man, it's nice to have the smudge tool wroking right again!

I should have thought to look there first before bothering everyone here. But, hopefully this thead might help others in this situation. What happened was that I had to reinstall my apps and forgot to upgrade to PS 6.0.1. 6.0 has several things that are lacking ie: speed enhancements for P4, several bugs in Multiprocessor systems etc.

As I said, that's for all replys! I appreciate the responses.
Ramon
 
Old 01-16-2006, 04:00 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.