CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 05:58 PM   #1
Als
Expert
portfolio
Aleksandar Stiglic
digital artist, 3D
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,922
Is it possible to output hardware representation of fluids?

Hi,
is it possible to cache the display particle representation of fluids?

Thanks


Als
__________________
"No Bucks, NO Buck Rogers!"

VFX rule no. 387
# Just redo it!

 
Old 04-25-2010, 06:12 AM   #2
viki164
Fluid Punk
 
viki164's Avatar
portfolio
Vikas Chandel
FX TD
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to viki164 Send a message via Yahoo to viki164
you mean the wireframe diplay > particle representation of the fluid ?
NO you cant output it to any of our renderer as far as I know...
But I have two workaround :

1. render them as playblast (setting ur fluid in a wireframe display mode) & in playblast settings set ur format to .iff.
normally even the playblast gives a good aplha info of fluid with shaded mode but in wireframe display mode it willl little hard to read or see the alpha properly.
I have`nt tried comping it but u can try at ur end.
the other drawback with these method is the particles will be very jumpy or popping & u cant change the radius of those wireframe display particles.

2. By advecting particle with fluid (works for maya 2009/2010 or below).
Actually what I did at work was I had a 2dfluid container & I needed exact representation of particle display So what I ended up doing is I created a big particle emitter exactly as same size of the 2d fluid container & emitted good amount of particles with conserve zero & set the intial state.
Now afer setting intial state, stop emitting it futher more & advect the particle with fluid as field applied on it.
so you will notice not all the particles will move only those which gets the velocity from the fluid will move.
so what one can do is to write a expression on radiussPP such as particles which gets accelarated or speed only those radius should be visible rest should have zero radius.
I think I also used voxel info command to query those particles with respect to each voxel but i dont remember how i used it but i had success in displaying fluid as a particle.
fortunately I have tht file at work & will let u know by tomorrow of how I did.

If you are using maya 2011 the advection has improved a lot & u might not need to do those radiusPP operattions on it. so give a try & let us know how it works.

Best,
Vik
 
Old 04-25-2010, 06:12 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.