CGTalk > Software > Lightwave 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2003, 06:10 AM   #1
Willax
Gotta Love It
 
Willax's Avatar
Own Video Production StudioW
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 341
DFX courseware DVD

I upgraded to 8.0 and received the DFX package with the upgrade. However I am having trouble getting the DVD to play back in my DVD player. I notified Eyeon and they sent a replacement, but that one has the same problem. I get an error that says disc is corrupted. Other DVD's work fine in my player (Pioneer DVD Rom DVD-104, a few years old) So I'm not sure what the problem might be. Has anyone had similar problems at all or know of a workaround? I've downloaded most recent drivers also.
 
Old 08-29-2003, 02:12 PM   #2
ahs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hi,

u have the lw 8.0 upgrade ???

cheers
ahs
 
Old 08-29-2003, 02:17 PM   #3
ub52
Know-it-All
 
ub52's Avatar
portfolio
Bob Landry
El Cajon, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 328
Not sure what media type the DFX courseware is on, but if it's DVD+R that might be the prob. I have the Pioneer A104 and it only burns DVD-R, so I think it may only read that as well.

-ub52
 
Old 08-29-2003, 07:15 PM   #4
zaam
Frequenter
Animator
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 209
ahs

I think the bundle is shipped with 7.5 and DFX+. The LW8 ships later.
 
Old 08-30-2003, 07:27 AM   #5
ahs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hi,

i've got my copy yesterday and it is only 7.5 but is the duo !!! upgrade (i got this earlier in the year )

cheers
andreas
 
Old 08-30-2003, 11:57 AM   #6
Bytehawk
Master of ceremony
 
Bytehawk's Avatar
Kurt Dorne
Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
Send a message via ICQ to Bytehawk
it 's not a dvd video

its a dvd data disc

you need to put it in your PC
it 's got QT movies on it
__________________
insert something smart here _______

website
 
Old 08-30-2003, 05:14 PM   #7
Willax
Gotta Love It
 
Willax's Avatar
Own Video Production StudioW
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 341
Well, the information on pioneers web site states that the 104s which I have does not read DVD-Ram. I'll bet that is the format of this DVD. I have other DVD's that work with no problem. Just this one.
 
Old 08-30-2003, 10:37 PM   #8
Bytehawk
Master of ceremony
 
Bytehawk's Avatar
Kurt Dorne
Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
Send a message via ICQ to Bytehawk
again,

put the DVD in your DVD reader that's in your PC
not a standalone TV box, it's a PC/mac DVD made for viewing on a computer
__________________
insert something smart here _______

website
 
Old 08-30-2003, 10:42 PM   #9
ahs
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
@willax

hi

dvd-ram medium (i've a player and writer in my notebook) costs about 20-30$ and is rewriteable and the dfx- courseware works fine on mine !

cheers
andreas
 
Old 08-31-2003, 02:53 AM   #10
MadMax
Lord of the crop circles
 
MadMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,929
Send a message via ICQ to MadMax
Works just fine in my Pioneer.
__________________
TYAN S2912WG2NR * Dual Opteron 2360 2.5ghz Quad Cores * Quadro FX4600 * 16gb RAM
 
Old 08-31-2003, 05:07 AM   #11
Willax
Gotta Love It
 
Willax's Avatar
Own Video Production StudioW
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 341
Well, I'm guessing my DVD player is too old to recognize whatever format Eyeon is using for their DVD. So I'm out of luck unless I upgrade to a newer player. Thanks for all your help though peoples - - -
 
Old 08-31-2003, 05:22 AM   #12
MadMax
Lord of the crop circles
 
MadMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,929
Send a message via ICQ to MadMax
did you try getting a firmware update for your drive?

You can download firmware updates from Pioneer, and flash the drive.

Just like flashing the bios on a motherboard.

THe A04 isn't that out of date.
__________________
TYAN S2912WG2NR * Dual Opteron 2360 2.5ghz Quad Cores * Quadro FX4600 * 16gb RAM
 
Old 08-31-2003, 05:39 AM   #13
Willax
Gotta Love It
 
Willax's Avatar
Own Video Production StudioW
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 341
Thanks MadMax, but I do have the latest firmware and drivers for this drive. And it is model 104s. At least 3 years old. I'll have to check my records. But it is a 10x slot load DVD-Rom. It's not a DVD recorder. Just a player.
 
Old 01-16-2006, 01:00 AM   #14
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.