CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Apple Shake
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2010, 03:17 AM   #1
Aikiman
Pixel Collisions
 
Aikiman's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy Raven
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,582
How to: Scale alpha matt

I've got a problem with my alpha showing through around the edge of my image, the image being a sequence of Maya volumetric fluids.

How I can 'choke' it in a bit so I can get rid of most of this?

Thanks
__________________
www.jeremyraven.co.nz
Vimeo
 
Old 01-11-2010, 03:34 AM   #2
scrimski
antieverything
portfolio
J. Schreyer
head->wall
ARRI Berlin
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,979
Try a dilate/erode node.

Sounds more like a premult alpha issue though.
 
Old 01-12-2010, 01:26 AM   #3
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,538
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
is your background color white? Did you premultiply the color by the alpha?
__________________
-deke
 
Old 01-12-2010, 02:07 AM   #4
Aikiman
Pixel Collisions
 
Aikiman's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy Raven
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,582
Yeah it is premultiplied. Ill try with the background white, see how I go.

Thanks guys.
__________________
www.jeremyraven.co.nz
Vimeo
 
Old 01-12-2010, 02:32 AM   #5
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,538
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
sorry, I didn't explain myself. I was asking if it was white because that would be an issue with giving funky edges. It should be black.
__________________
-deke
 
Old 01-12-2010, 02:48 AM   #6
Aikiman
Pixel Collisions
 
Aikiman's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy Raven
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,582
mmmm funny that because I know not premultiplying it gives funky edges but the alpha seems to be okay and by making the background white creates a snow blizzard where I cant see the edges but again the alpha seems fine too. Ill fire off a batch render later on and get back to yous with some results.
__________________
www.jeremyraven.co.nz
Vimeo
 
Old 01-23-2010, 10:38 PM   #7
Aikiman
Pixel Collisions
 
Aikiman's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy Raven
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,582
Okay my findings are these.

Setting background colour to white, as we know, doesnt work. Initially I thought it had potential because in the render window it rendered with alpha but in batch render mode it doesnt as one would expect.

Secondly, un-premultiplying is also not a viable option as this 'hardens' the edge and with volumetrics, this makes it look worse than an image that has been premultiplied.

What has worked is rendering the fluid with pre-multiplcation on and then using the dilate/erode node in Shake to crush the edge in therefore getting rid of the fuzzy gray line around everything.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
www.jeremyraven.co.nz
Vimeo
 
Old 01-23-2010, 10:48 PM   #8
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,538
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
why can't you use a black bg?
__________________
-deke
 
Old 01-24-2010, 07:53 AM   #9
Aikiman
Pixel Collisions
 
Aikiman's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy Raven
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,582
The final test is with a black background with pre-mult on and then brought into Shake to erode alpha inwards to get rid of black ring.
__________________
www.jeremyraven.co.nz
Vimeo
 
Old 01-24-2010, 07:53 AM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.