CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2009, 07:30 AM   #1
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
Color info only pass

Hi there;

I can't find a type of pass...

It is a pass that has only the color information of the shaders in the scene, no light/reflection/refraction/specular/shadow/other information included, it's like all the shaders were surface shaders...

Do you know wich pass is it?.

Thank's in advance.

P.S.: I'm talking about Mental Ray
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 11-25-2009, 09:39 AM   #2
kiryha
Expert
 
kiryha's Avatar
portfolio
Kiryha Krysko
3D artist
Ukraine
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 685
Send a message via ICQ to kiryha
Its diffuseMaterialColor pass. But it does not work with mia_x_passes shaders, only with maya materials. I usualy create this pass manualy as separate render leyer with surface shaders.
__________________
3D animation blog
 
Old 11-25-2009, 10:18 AM   #3
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
Mmm, is there any list with the pass that ACTUALLY work?, or a list with the passes that don't work and won't spend my time scrubbing my head thinking about my mistake, just to realise that it is autodesk mistake indeed?.
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 11-25-2009, 10:35 AM   #4
kiryha
Expert
 
kiryha's Avatar
portfolio
Kiryha Krysko
3D artist
Ukraine
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 685
Send a message via ICQ to kiryha
User Guide > Rendering and Render Setup > Shading > Shading Nodes > mental ray for Maya shaders >

mia_material_x_passes support Beauty, Diffuse, Direct Irradiance, Indirect, Reflection, Refraction, Specular, Translucence
__________________
3D animation blog
 
Old 11-25-2009, 11:31 AM   #5
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
I'd like to use a more elegant solution that respects displacements and so on..., if I could set mia_x_passes not to have any diffuse info and be 100% self illuminated...
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 11-25-2009, 11:43 AM   #6
kiryha
Expert
 
kiryha's Avatar
portfolio
Kiryha Krysko
3D artist
Ukraine
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 685
Send a message via ICQ to kiryha
>not to have any diffuse info and be 100% self illuminated...
Its exectly surfase shader. It can be with displacement too. I don`t understand the problem
__________________
3D animation blog
 
Old 11-25-2009, 12:05 PM   #7
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
The problem is that if I assign a surface shader to the object for a render layer, it overrides the displacement. To workaround that I need to change only the material and not the shading group, and that is a little more work to do, not too much, but if I have lots of objects in my scene, is a pain in the ass.
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 11-25-2009, 02:46 PM   #8
mlager8
Lord of the posts
 
mlager8's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew Lager
3D artist
Oceanside, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 875
All you have to do to add displacement to a surface shader is from the attribute editor select the first tab of the surface shader, under shading group attributes is a displacement slot, drop your object displacement in that slot. I know you said you dont want to edit shader groups, but it's really only one drag into a slot.
 
Old 11-25-2009, 02:54 PM   #9
kiryha
Expert
 
kiryha's Avatar
portfolio
Kiryha Krysko
3D artist
Ukraine
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 685
Send a message via ICQ to kiryha
Its just a question of organizing your scene.
And a lot of uniform work can be done with mel. Nobody say it would be easy
__________________
3D animation blog
 
Old 11-25-2009, 04:23 PM   #10
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
Hehehe, yes, nobody says it would be ease, you are right...., no wait, you are wrong, it SHOULD be easy!, you only have to have the passes system to work the way they are meant to!, that's all. No mel, no workarounds, etc. Autodesk just make passes work and everything stays cool.

So..., are passes fixed in 2010?.
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 11-25-2009, 05:10 PM   #11
kiryha
Expert
 
kiryha's Avatar
portfolio
Kiryha Krysko
3D artist
Ukraine
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 685
Send a message via ICQ to kiryha
Yes, it should be easy(as in XSI for example). I have feeling, that Autodesk deside to kill Maya at all. Nothing fixed in 2100. Probobly nothing would be fixed in 2011.
__________________
3D animation blog
 
Old 11-27-2009, 11:30 AM   #12
revilo3D
CG Addict
 
revilo3D's Avatar
portfolio
Oliver Hilbert
3D Lecturer
Media Design School
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 623
I feel you pain my friend. Maya has probably to most horrible pass support out there. It's a joke - it really is! 3 releases and they manage to get only a few mr shader to actually support only a few passes with ease!

Tip for disp + material color. I have had many a arguement that the maya ambient light is useful for something, with people who just wouldnt listen because of close mindedness. Try this...You can use this light to create the pass your after create one and just turn down ambient shade to 0.
__________________
"Yeap, im certain - I spent 50hrs making sure it was a cow"

www.revilo3d.com
 
Old 11-27-2009, 11:48 AM   #13
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
Thank you revillo for that info, but that way I must perform another render mustn't do I?, I mean, I'd need two renders to do that, the same as I'm rendering with two render layers.
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 11-27-2009, 12:25 PM   #14
revilo3D
CG Addict
 
revilo3D's Avatar
portfolio
Oliver Hilbert
3D Lecturer
Media Design School
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 623
I think if your are not using MR shaders you can do light centric pass rendering via contribution maps, but basically yes... you will have to bud. Annoying huh. But hey.. its not too labor intensive to setup and via render layers.. you get the pass in the end. I always end up with a few render layers regradless with doing passes I think if you do a test dump of all passes over your scene even with mr materials you'll get a pass with just diffuse shading info still (even if mia dont offically support it - dunno, maybe I just got lucky last time I tried). Youll need this to rebuild the shading component...
__________________
"Yeap, im certain - I spent 50hrs making sure it was a cow"

www.revilo3d.com
 
Old 11-27-2009, 12:28 PM   #15
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,419
My workflow since years now is to us render layers, but I'd wanted to get rid of them, since each render layer means 2x render time, that's the point on using render passes doesn't it?, yeah, I think so.

I'll stick to my render layers workflow for the moment.
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Donīt trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.