Character pipeline

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2009   #1
Character pipeline

Hi everyone,

Decided to join up and post as I'm just getting into next-gen character modelling for games and I'm looking for advice.

Can someone give me an idea of a good workflow pipeline for character creation?

I'm looking at using 3DS max and Z Brush but I'm a little unsure about what gets created where.
For example do I create a simple base mesh in Max and export to Z brush? Do I create normal maps in z brush or Max? Does my base mesh need mapping in max before exporting (in order to determine how the final normal maps and other textures are laid out)?

Obviously I know most people probably have a workflow that works for them (or determined by an existing studio pipeline) but just wondered about a good overview of a common procedure to go from "2D concept" to "final game model".

(PS...I did a search about this but couldn't find anything that really covered it)

Old 10 October 2009   #2
Smitler - if you're signed up for the character modeling class with Jon Rush then he'll cover a lot of the workflow during the course of the class. I just took this class and you go back and forth between 3ds Max and Zbrush a lot depending on what stage you are at. It's really about using the best tool for the job and also using what's comfortable for you. I think I heard "there are many ways to skin a cat" a few dozen times during the course.

Old 10 October 2009   #3
Here's a great tutorial for max / zbrush workflow:
http://www.marcusdublin.com/TutorialsselectionPage.html

website is currently down tho.

Here's a mirror
http://www.free3dtutorials.com/mode...alis-part-1.php

Last edited by Psyk0 : 10 October 2009 at 01:18 AM.

Old 10 October 2009   #4
Heres the process I've learnt at uni for building a character: