Composition exercises

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2009   #1
Wink Composition exercises

Composition exercises!

Hello everybody, lately I and Matthew-S started more intense conversation about composition and started something like a workshop or class to discuss about this stuff so visually as in words. Some people wanted this to be more public thing and I agree. So I copied below everything concerning composition from our previous conversation and I hope anyone interrested will read and post images with given exercises or post his/her suggestions to further exercise/discussion about composition.

Welcome everyone and let's get started!

Matthew-S:

Me and siiilon was discussing composition and here I am writing a little about it, I'm no pro though so take what you can learn from this and keep studying about it yourself.
I decided I wanted to add the info in siiilon's sketchbook so some of you other guys could get the information too.

My teacher always told me that I shouldn't place things in the middle, this however was in decorative painting but I do believe that the rules are there no matter what category u are in though and comes back in everything that we paint.
Always remember though guys that the rules are there to teach you but they are also there to be bent upon, otherwise it all just gets boring.

In composition you have tool called Golden Ratio (I hope that's what it's called in English?). this Golden Ratio tells you where to place things on your canvas.
Preferably this is to give your piece a flow and also put things so that the focus are not entirely on the object that you paint.
There's a a ceratin flow to think about, you want they eye to wander in the piece that you are creating.
Me and siiilon talked about this earlier. This golden ratio is good tool to make you lead the viewers eyes where you want them to look.