CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2009, 04:52 PM   #1
PEN
R&D/Technical Director
 
PEN's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Neale
PEN Productions
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,415
GW Drawing broken?

Is GW drawing completely broken in Max 2009 and partially broken in 2008 and 2010? Text will not work in 2008 and 2010 and nothing appears to be working in 2009.

If so is it possible to use a dotNet form and make it transparent so you can see through it to viewports?
__________________
Paul Neale
http://paulneale.com
 
Old 09-25-2009, 05:18 PM   #2
PEN
R&D/Technical Director
 
PEN's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Neale
PEN Productions
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,415
Got the transparency working in dotNet but I'm still wondering if people are having the issues with GW.
__________________
Paul Neale
http://paulneale.com
 
Old 09-25-2009, 07:38 PM   #3
EricDLegare
Animation TD
 
EricDLegare's Avatar
portfolio
Eric D. Legare
Digital Domain
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 581
Yes there were some changes, the proof is that DViewPaint 1 doesn't work very well in 2009...

Oh GW, where are you when we need you :(
__________________
EricDLegare.com
 
Old 09-25-2009, 09:05 PM   #4
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,102
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
[QUOTE=PEN]Is GW drawing completely broken in Max 2009 and partially broken in 2008 and 2010? Text will not work in 2008 and 2010 and nothing appears to be working in 2009.
[QUOTE]

i had some problems in max 2008, but in 2009 and 2010 gw works fine for me.
 
Old 09-25-2009, 10:34 PM   #5
Bobo
Krakatoa Guy
 
Bobo's Avatar
Borislav Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by PEN
Is GW drawing completely broken in Max 2009 and partially broken in 2008 and 2010? Text will not work in 2008 and 2010 and nothing appears to be working in 2009.


It is quite hardware and driver dependent, and the text has always had problems working in world space (at least since DirectX became prevalent, like in Max 4 and higher ), but the screen space one always worked well for me, so I had to resort to converting world space to screen space and using the screen space text instead.
__________________
Bobo
 
Old 09-26-2009, 02:04 AM   #6
HuaMuLan
o(︶︿︶)o
portfolio
Hua MuLan
Shanghai, China
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 114
Send a message via MSN to HuaMuLan
I did a manipulator for a company sometime ago .I use max-sdk .And there is a display function called gw to draw mesh . I made that mesh transparent and also applied some
texture on it.here is the rougn version I did without texture.I had already left that company so I did not find a complete one (with textures) ;
I also created a dotNet window first with C#,and wish to put some buttons on it .But it seems the transparency in that window is faked . One can also move the window when he/she grag the transparent part of the window . So you just can not select something through the transparent part of the window

Last edited by HuaMuLan : 09-26-2009 at 02:24 PM.
 
Old 09-29-2009, 12:03 AM   #7
PEN
R&D/Technical Director
 
PEN's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Neale
PEN Productions
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobo
It is quite hardware and driver dependent, and the text has always had problems working in world space (at least since DirectX became prevalent, like in Max 4 and higher ), but the screen space one always worked well for me, so I had to resort to converting world space to screen space and using the screen space text instead.


Must be my hardware then as I'm not getting good results at all. I think that I have a new solution for it all. See where it gets me and I will post the results if it all works.
__________________
Paul Neale
http://paulneale.com
 
Old 09-29-2009, 06:23 AM   #8
3rd Dimentia
Expert
 
3rd Dimentia's Avatar
Chris Gray
TD/DeluxePaint3 Veteran
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 646
Send a message via ICQ to 3rd Dimentia Send a message via MSN to 3rd Dimentia
I've had no problems with it in 2010_64
__________________
Not bad. For a hughman.
 
Old 09-29-2009, 06:23 AM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.