CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2003, 02:55 PM   #1
Alex Morris
veteran
 
Alex Morris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alex Morris
Architect and Illustrator
Alex Morris Visualisation
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to Alex Morris
drawing splines

Hi guys,

attached is the drawing part of a script I am working on for creating universal beams

it has two levels of detail: the high detail level of the script keeps bombing out but the low level one works fine.

any ideas?

I would also appreciate some pointers to getting the pt1 and pt2 positions from mouse click and drag; of course if there is a better way of doing the whole thing that would be great too
Attached Files
File Type: ms draw ubeam testbed 0.1.ms (3.7 KB, 32 views)
__________________
Alex Morris
Architectural Visualisation
www.amv-cgi.com
 
Old 07-31-2003, 09:12 AM   #2
Alex Morris
veteran
 
Alex Morris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alex Morris
Architect and Illustrator
Alex Morris Visualisation
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to Alex Morris
OK this might have been a bit vague so here's a bit of further information:

The low detail version basically omits the fillets and the variables relate to the attached diagram.

I just had a thought this morning about using one rectangle and then booleaning out two others with fillets as a way of getting round the filleting vertices problem, but will have to check the help file to see if this is possible.

In the longer term I want to do a number of sections so the adding of arcs method still needs sorting.

thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg i-beam diagram.jpg (12.2 KB, 60 views)
__________________
Alex Morris
Architectural Visualisation
www.amv-cgi.com
 
Old 07-31-2003, 05:39 PM   #3
Alex Morris
veteran
 
Alex Morris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alex Morris
Architect and Illustrator
Alex Morris Visualisation
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to Alex Morris
OK I fixed it..........a couple of typos, doubling up variable b didnt help either and remembering to add the spline segments before defining knots for them.

Probably still needs tidying up though so any comments welcome

Incidentally I tried the rectangle approach but found that I couldnt boolean the shapes with maxscript.....arghh!!!!

Hope everyone is having a good time at Siggraph
Attached Files
File Type: ms draw ubeam testbed 0.2.ms (4.3 KB, 20 views)
__________________
Alex Morris
Architectural Visualisation
www.amv-cgi.com
 
Old 08-04-2003, 05:34 PM   #4
Alex Morris
veteran
 
Alex Morris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alex Morris
Architect and Illustrator
Alex Morris Visualisation
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to Alex Morris
Just checking to see if anyone is back from Siggraph yet?
__________________
Alex Morris
Architectural Visualisation
www.amv-cgi.com
 
Old 08-04-2003, 10:22 PM   #5
Bobo
Krakatoa Guy
 
Bobo's Avatar
Borislav Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,317
Quote:
Originally posted by Alex Morris
Just checking to see if anyone is back from Siggraph yet?


I came back 3 days ago...
 
Old 08-05-2003, 09:24 AM   #6
Alex Morris
veteran
 
Alex Morris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alex Morris
Architect and Illustrator
Alex Morris Visualisation
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to Alex Morris
Hi Bobo,

Max 6 looks pretty good - have discreet released anything on any changes to maxscript with the new release?

Any comments on the script?
__________________
Alex Morris
Architectural Visualisation
www.amv-cgi.com
 
Old 08-25-2004, 07:58 PM   #7
amika
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
How to make it as Plugin..

Alex Morris, Could you please make it to be paramatic Shape plugin. Thank you.
 
Old 08-25-2004, 10:01 PM   #8
f97ao
PolySpeeded!
 
f97ao's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Andreas Oberg
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via ICQ to f97ao Send a message via MSN to f97ao
Yea would be great to hear if they inserted any cool things for MaxScript7. MaxScript6 mainly got better help and was more stable, but disapointed me with new features. Most of the things I thought it lacked is still lacking.
/Andreas
__________________
Rare - Lead VFX Artist
 
Old 01-15-2006, 07:00 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.