CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2009, 11:10 PM   #1
pelos
Always something new.
 
pelos's Avatar
portfolio
Demian Kurejwowski
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 823
Send a message via MSN to pelos
Round corner Bump and something more?

how can i use "Round Corner" + and image Bump Map?

i use a mix and plug the bump map generator as main color, and then the round corner node into the primary color, (just the second one) and set it as Mix,
but i don't get any bump am i setting something wrong.
 
Old 05-28-2009, 07:16 AM   #2
Gabba
Big Dreamer
 
Gabba's Avatar
Gabriele Veronelli
Chiasso, Switzerland
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to Gabba
What version of the software are using? 7.0, 7.5?
 
Old 05-28-2009, 07:32 AM   #3
Jesse-Irvin
I ARE PANT!!
 
Jesse-Irvin's Avatar
portfolio
Jesse Taylor Irvin
Modeling Instructor
Vancouver Film School
West Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 363
without any testing or real basis for this suggestion I'm gonna say you could try taking the round corners node and running it into the bump input on the bump node (with the texture image going into the "input" input)

cant test without xsi in front of me but it might work
__________________
Prexis the Damned WiP

Blizzard Art Contest Entry

JesseIrvin.com

email me at: jesse@jesseirvin.com
 
Old 05-28-2009, 03:25 PM   #4
pelos
Always something new.
 
pelos's Avatar
portfolio
Demian Kurejwowski
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 823
Send a message via MSN to pelos
i am on version 7.1 (we will get 7.5 later on)
i put a picture how i think it works, i read the manual on the round corner node, but didn't say how to mix it with something else, so i am assuming that must work similar if you mix 2 image maps for the bump,
 
Old 05-28-2009, 07:29 PM   #5
Gabba
Big Dreamer
 
Gabba's Avatar
Gabriele Veronelli
Chiasso, Switzerland
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to Gabba
What kind of material are you using? With architectural_material try this:
Create a bumpmap generator and put it in the "standard bump" port of the architectural material and the round corner in the "overall bump" (maybe the names are not correct, I'm not on the software now). Set the values about bump (and also round corner) at the fourth value from the top, if I'm not wrong it is "set to world space" (maybe I'm wrong, tomorrow I can tell you what I do normally).
 
Old 05-29-2009, 01:21 AM   #6
scottsch
-=Softimage XSI User=-
 
scottsch's Avatar
portfolio
Scott S
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 208


Middle cube is rounded corner. Not a great effect... It can get unstable sometimes,
too. I should add that the image bump came from the image shader's options.
 
Old 05-29-2009, 03:00 PM   #7
pelos
Always something new.
 
pelos's Avatar
portfolio
Demian Kurejwowski
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 823
Send a message via MSN to pelos
scottsch how did you set the image map on the bump i don't see it on your tree,
(Nice example)

Thanks guys.
 
Old 05-29-2009, 07:13 PM   #8
Ohmanoggin
Lord of the posts
Ohmanoggin Hurts
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 510
I am puzzled...
I used a mix2colors node pluged both in and it worked fine in 7.0 and 7.5. It didn't matter which was base or color1.

The only thing I see different is I plugged the mix2colors node directly into the phong bump node. Try that.

Ohmanoggin

Last edited by Ohmanoggin : 05-29-2009 at 07:17 PM.
 
Old 05-29-2009, 08:13 PM   #9
mocaw
Foot in Mouth
 
mocaw's Avatar
Gideon Klindt
PDX, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,418
I find I get more predictable results for one reason or another if I pipe it directly through the material as show in this image... (where the gif is orange it should be yellow and red- my biayd.) This is how I "learned" to use it though I'm not positive it's the "proper" way.

Hacktastic? Seems there are quite a few ways to do this so long as you pass the info along correctly.

I'd think though it would be MUCH better to use a normal map since bump mapping is terribly slow in mr IMHO. Not sure if it works with displacement too...which is also faster than bump mapping in many situations...

Keep in mind too this is intended AFAIK as a alternative to micro-beveling...not anything much larger. It's really nice for small scale, machined edges and such that you are not going to get uber close to...
__________________
GIDEONKLINDTDOTCOM

Last edited by mocaw : 05-29-2009 at 08:43 PM.
 
Old 05-30-2009, 12:49 AM   #10
PiotrekM
Know-it-All
 
PiotrekM's Avatar
portfolio
Piotrek Marczak
3d generalist
Warsaw, Poland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 376
round corners is outputting vectors, if you want to mix it with another bump use vector-vector with adding node
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vv.jpg (94.4 KB, 32 views)
 
Old 05-30-2009, 01:18 AM   #11
scottsch
-=Softimage XSI User=-
 
scottsch's Avatar
portfolio
Scott S
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
pelos, in the "image" node there is a checkbox to use the image as a bumpmap as well.
It also has bump parameters like contrast and height.

if i need a bump i usually just use this. i almost never use bump in my stuff, tho,
just not required for what i do (distance viz shots) and it kills render time, as said.
A lot of times with fabric you dont need it, as the fabric texture is enough to confuse
the eye into thinking there is a bump. Plus fabric is matte and you notice bump less
anyway on matte materials.

here is a new screen (Bump Extreme 2.0 - I can practically taste the metal):

 
Old 06-02-2009, 03:04 AM   #12
mocaw
Foot in Mouth
 
mocaw's Avatar
Gideon Klindt
PDX, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,418
I'm working on a simple animation for a client that has to be rendered fairly hi-res with quite a few frames. The geometry could not be simpler too. I needed some small bevels, so I thought heck- I'll use this shader.

It was working just fine for the most part, but on a whim I decided to sub-divide my mesh 5 times with an operator and then sub divide it once at render time to achieve the bevel. I was surprised to find the sub-divided one rendered faster- esp. on rendering a sequence after the mesh was loaded!

Granted- the only thing I'm using on any pass so far that uses ray tracing is the AO- which would require the bevels to render correctly anyway, but still...goes to show that you might want to do a test or two before settling on something that "saves you rendertime".
__________________
GIDEONKLINDTDOTCOM
 
Old 06-04-2009, 04:31 PM   #13
pelos
Always something new.
 
pelos's Avatar
portfolio
Demian Kurejwowski
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 823
Send a message via MSN to pelos
Wow i didn't know there were so many ways,

after checking some options, and having some little bugs on that matter,
i prefer to model the bevels myself, i am worry that in the middle of the production something might happen.

and i will use it only in thing that wont matter.

thanks guys for all the examples that you sent.
 
Old 07-08-2009, 03:20 PM   #14
pelos
Always something new.
 
pelos's Avatar
portfolio
Demian Kurejwowski
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 823
Send a message via MSN to pelos
ok sorry took me a little time to write on this matter again.
i was working in a project with modo.

the reason that i got a hard time on this is becuase i was using Cook torrence instead phong.

phong does have a bump imput wile i didnt find it on the cook torrence, i change the node to phong and adjust the specularity to mach as posible to the one i had with the Cook torrence.

i plug the image bump into the bump imput on the phong
and round corners into the material directly.

hope it help if someone get stuck on this matter.
 
Old 07-08-2009, 03:20 PM   #15
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.