Old 03-27-2009, 12:14 AM   #1
rdeyoung
Art is never finished

portfolio
Ryan DeYoung
Los Angeles, USA

Squirting "ketchup" out of a bottle, please help

Hey guys,

Im pretty new to dynamics - Im trying to create the effect of ketchup squirting out of a bottle. I have a character that picks up a ketchup bottle and starts squirting it out.
I have an emitter parented to the nozzel and the particles start coming out as he squeezes it. I have it on blobby surface but it just looks like a bunch of round balls, not a nice stream of liquid. Any advice?

Thanks!

Old 03-27-2009, 01:01 AM   #2
rdeyoung
Art is never finished

portfolio
Ryan DeYoung
Los Angeles, USA

Im also getting this weird thing happening, when the ketchup bottle moves, the particles break up. What causes this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (9.2 KB, 89 views)

Old 03-27-2009, 10:40 AM   #3
kdronez
Frequenter

portfolio
Veselin Gyurov
Noobie xD
Searching for Job T_T.
United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdeyoung
Hey guys,

Im pretty new to dynamics - Im trying to create the effect of ketchup squirting out of a bottle. I have a character that picks up a ketchup bottle and starts squirting it out.
I have an emitter parented to the nozzel and the particles start coming out as he squeezes it. I have it on blobby surface but it just looks like a bunch of round balls, not a nice stream of liquid. Any advice?

Thanks!

I dont know if you use maya 2009,but if you do use water preset its nice for liquids :>.You can control the shape under liquid simulation menu (its in attribute editor),also decrease your space scale (under nucleus node.If you are using good old particles just increase threshhold to smth like 1 :>.
You can increase your damp and drag values(its under Dynamic Properties) to smth like .1 or .2.